The Seal of Magic I

1 23
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago
Topics: Fantasy, Novel, Dreams, Waternova, Series, ...

[WP] Magic has always been banned inside the walls of your home city. You never knew why until you looked down upon the city from afar and noticed that framed by the circular outer wall, all the zig-zagging streets and alleyways actually construct a giant magic seal- one for imprisoning great evil.

*****

Ascelpia, the place I had always called home.

The only city in which magic was strictly forbidden, in all the nine provinces of the kingdom. No one was ever told why, but it was something I was sure the older generation knew, especially the higherups. Research on magic was strictly forbidden as well, so spellbooks, wands, and most literature or artifacts exclusively associated with the use of magic were forbidden.

And yet, I managed to know a lot about the subject. I made frequent trips outside the city, as I was an excellent archer and I had regular competitions to attend as well as training sessions and hunts with the Royal Archery unit.

I managed to sneak out every now and then and buy several books on the topics. I made sure to hide the books, and I never dared using magic. The knowledge was all that mattered, the reason why I didn't use it was that the ban was put in place to protect the lives of the citizens of the city.

I would soon learn why.

In the meantime, I even managed to steal a wand. Made of acacia wood and covered with a thin glaze, it was about a foot long and ivory-colored. I stole it from a wandmaker's shop which was left unattended, and it was hidden in my secret hiding place inside my house, where the books were kept as well.

I was very much learned in all that concerned magic at this point, and yet I had never used it. But yesterday... yesterday was the day enlightenment finally came. Enlightenment that would not have come if not for an unusual turn of events.

It was when I was returning from the hunt I accompanied the king and his archery unit on. My killing of a stag was the highlight of the whole competition, and I was assured of a hero's welcome upon reaching the city.

But nearing there, I was told that the path was blocked due to the storm that happened the day of the hunt. Clearing it would take days, which was longer than the one day it would take me to maneuver around by using the path to the East Gate.

The East gate was hardly used, as it was in a bit of a hilly area, a hill overlooking the city. Quite a treacherous climb, but according to stories, there were steps etched into the side so one could get down easily.

As soon as I reached the top of the hill overlooking the city, I instantly realized that the city was entrenched in more mystery than I ever imagined. It was a Grim Seal, the strongest kind of magic seal to ever exist. It was used to bind demons and malevolent entities.

A Grim seal could only be manifested by the death of the caster, as the entirety of a soul was a powerful item to use in exchange for the immense power and effectiveness of the seal.

But together with the circular wall surrounding the city, there were five Grim Seals, combining to form one giant Pentagram Seal. A Grim Seal, A Pentagram, and A circle, the symbol of magical perfection... what in the world

When I finally reached the East Gate and the guards let me in, I didn't miss the inquisitive looks they gave me. But more importantly, the looks the elders gave me were more ominous. And when they summoned time to a meeting the next day on the spot, I understood that this was the time.

It was the time for me to get answers.

3
$ 0.22
$ 0.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago
Topics: Fantasy, Novel, Dreams, Waternova, Series, ...

Comments

duuuddeee what comes neexxttt

$ 0.00
2 years ago