The Assassination High: Twelve

0 32
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

Assassination High: Prologue

Assassination High: Eleven

[WP] In a school for assassins and mercenaries, you're a beloved lunch lady. You ruefully realize that you're the only person nearly everyone trusts. Then you get framed for placing hemlock in an administrator's meal. The school board rushes to fire you, throwing the academy into turmoil.

*****

Edward 'Krane' Morrison and Khalid 'Rook' Hassani.

The two people who were currently not just our prime suspects, but certified culprits in the case at hand. Amanda handed their files to me as we sat in her office, drinking cups of coffee and planning how we would go about their capture.

"And we know for certain that they are the people we're looking for?" Nina asked, ever the overthinker. Ot was important, however, If they were not our culprits, then we would be alerting the real culprits of our knowledge of their actions. It would be hard to come up with any surprises at that point, and the enemy would now be three of four steps ahead.

"That's why I don't think we should just go and grab them. Not only can they easily deny, but there's the fact that we're only 98% sure that they're the people we're looking for. 2% leaves more than enough space for error to come in, and at this stage, we cannot afford any slipups."

Viper looked at us intently. The look of shock seemed to have worn off, at least a bit, "So, have you got any ideas on how to appropriately nab them? I guess it would be better to catch them in the act if we're going to do things your way, Nina."

I thought about it. Viper's suggestion was actually very correct upon brief consideration. The best way to go about it would be to catch them in the act, but how the hell were we going to set something like that up?

"As much as that sounds good and all, ther's also the problem of risk assessment. Now that we look at it, the reward is bigm but the risk is somewhat even bigger. We're going for all or nothing here, so we can't leave any loose ends. I've come up with a plan, and it's a plan that'll require tasty bait," Amanda said.

I somehow caught her drift immediately. Catching the culprit would require baiting them with someone they wouldn't resist having a shot at,. A loose end that needed to be tied urgently to poritect their identity. I looked at Viper immediatelt.

Amanda smirked. "You sure catch in quick, Maria."

Nina finally caught on and nodded. " That does sound like a plan, but can you guys really execute that? Aew you really gonna-"

"The hell? How the hell would I agree to that?" Viper said angrily, standing up. "I understand that Spyder means so much to you and all, but at least consider the lives of other people. Maybe your cold assassin nature doesn't have to be seen in every damn-"

"If you think this is just about my facility then you're wrong. It stopped being just about Spyder or even myself when innocent staff and students started getting killed. I'm not going to abandon you in the lion's den or anything. I just need you to draw the enemy out, and I can assure you that you'll be watched and protected throughout. Fair enough?" Amanda asked.

I wa surprised she overlooked Viper's slightly insulative outburst, but then again his life was on the line. There was little wonder why he reacted like that.

He nodded. "Normally I'd have had to have Maria's assurance, but you've been great these past few hours. I'j willing to trust you just this once, and I hope I'm not making a mistake."

Amanda smiled and nodded.

"Now that all of that's settled," I started. "Let;s get our plan straight."

*****

During Dinner, we sent Viper back to his own five man unit - or four man in this case, seeing that Caprice was dead - and told them that we were still working on the investigation, but that they would be safe. We again emphasized on the instruction of staying together, and then dismissed them. Amanda went off on her own, while Nina and I went to our agreed destination.

Viper moved like we agreed. As though he was sneaking off to the shore area where the boat made a rendezvous with Krane and Rook that time. He was halfway through to the place when...

... the lights suddenly went off.

The silhouetted figure approached Viper at a surprisiding speed. If we were ven a second slow, we would have been too late, Byt luckily, I aimed for his leg and shot, getting him in the right knee. MNina shot him in the right thing, and he was down with a pitiful groan.

I walked over and kicked him on the side to roll him over. "Noce to see you, Rook."

The pain0stricken but snarling face of Khalid 'Rook' Hassani was all I need to see to know that our spoecukations were spot on.

But that smile was wiped off my face when we heard Amanda's scream from a distance.

*****

To Be Continued.

This story will be over soon enough. I'm happy with he way it has turned out so far anyway.

5
$ 2.73
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

Comments