Murdersdale 10

4 22
Avatar for Ghostwriter
3 years ago

Sitting opposite the lady in the carriage, Jedidiah couldn't help the battle that was being fought in his head. To either dismiss and disregard her for her earlier assault on his pride - one which he had not recovered from - or to recognize her for just saving his life - of course, taking another man's in the process - and her aid in the investigation.

He was reading the article excerpt she'd found of course.

"Thank you, Miss, em..."

She smirked. "Nice try, but it's obvious you still aren't willing to accord me the respect I deserve. Such a simple trick to get my name won't work," she said, staring out the window.

"Worth the try," he said ruefully, turning his attention back to the article. "But I really mean it this time, thanks. I've been a real pain since I've met you, but you've helped me twice. I guess it's time to show a bit of chivalry," he said, looking her in the eye as he took off his hat.

She laughed it off, but he could see her cheeks redden. "Miranda. Miranda Hernandez. I'm a private investigator hired by..."

"The royal family?" Jedidiah asked, although he already knew her answer was going to be in the affirmative.

She smirked again, the singular action having an extremely seductive effect on Jedidiah. "You're living up to your reputation. How did you know?"

"A Spanish looking, Spanish sounding beautiful lady appears with information on a missing Spanish artefact and hinting at the fact that she was sponsored. Either it was the royal family, or some criminal element with a relatively equivalent amount of power."

She stared outside again.

"And how did you know I was not associated with the criminals, huh?"

He kept calm. How did he know anyway?

"I guess I didn't want to believe that anyway."

"Anything to do with the fact that I'm drop-dead gorgeous?"

"That and more."

They both smiled as the journey continued.

-

Rumor was a great traveller, but bad news was a faster one.

The Sheriff stood opposite the man , analysing the questions he could be asked and choosing his answers carefully. A wrong answer could well be his last, the last two sheriffs before him had worked for the man and HE was the THIRD person to assume that position in TEN years.

Simply put, the man did not hesitate to dispose of anything he considered incapable of achieving HIS aims.

"Barely an hour, Sheriff. Barely an hour since I have you what I would have thought to be a relatively simple one, owing to your expertise, and yet we're here."

Bad news travelled fast. The news that the operation at the library had led to a shootout at a bar, followed by the death of their operatives reached the Sheriff's ear and made him sick.

"Every part of the operation was planned to the last 't'. There were however some unforseen variables that..."

"I keep you alive and pay you to take care of these 'unforseen variables' and ensure they do not in any way inconvenience, don't I now?" The man said, butting in.

"Yes, you do."

"Tut tut," the man said, pouring himself a cup of tea and sipping a bit, enjoying his brew.

The Sheriff knew his life hung in the balance, and his fate would be determined by the wild thoughts of this maniac in times like this.

"I'm feeling merciful today, Sheriff. 72 hours. 3 days. Get me the jewel, eliminate the detective and whatever that variable was that reduced the number my operatives today. Are we clear?"

"Crystal, sir."

"Good. Out of my sight, then. The clock's tickin'" the man said, laughing maniacally.

The Sheriff stumbled out of the manor, looking back at the building before saddling his horse and riding off.

If he stayed back a bit longer and cared to look at his surroundings, he'd have seen a homeless man stand up from the dusty pavement and take off his dirty garbs and then reveal a clean teenager who walked off into the alleyway.

-

As the train came to a halt, Jedidiah just concluded filling in Miranda on all that had happened in the course of his investigation, and his suspicions of the Sheriff.

"Hmmm, it's safe to say that we have to be on our toes at this point; for all we know, we're walking targets. I'll be happy to tidy this investigation once and for all, as will you, right, Jed?"

He smirked at the new nickname she'd giving him, wondering how a woman he just met that day had already got him acting like a schoolboy.

"The feeling is mutual."

They disembarked and started walking eout of the station before she gripped his arm and turned to face him, a fiery look in her eyes.

"What do you want to do about the jewel?"

"What about it?"

"What are your designs for it."

Then he saw it. She was trying to make sure their interests weren't conflicting. That they weren't rivals. But they weren't.

"The fate of the jewel - if we find it - is in your hands. I'm here to investigate the death of Lady Cynster, and you're here for the jewel. Both are interconnected in many ways - as we solve one, we solve both. You can take it back to Spain if you want."

She smiled, and then they kept on walking.

"Where are we going?" She suddenly asked.

"I'd guess you'll need to drop off your luggage as soon as possible," he said, pointing at the medium sized, somewhat heavy bag he carried for her. "But first, I'd have to meet someone."

"Vital to the case?" She asked expectantly.

"Uh-huh."

They stopped in front of a bar and entered. Only a few people were inside, and none paid them much attention. He nodded towards the bartender and they went behind the counter to a private booth, were a teenage boy in clean clothes sat at the table.

"Detective!" The boy beamed.

"Now Tommy, what did you leave about the interesting life of this town's Sheriff?"

-

I'm sorry for delaying in my updated, I do realize it's been quite long, but I've had to prepare for the semester exams. @Ozzyy can testify to how stressful all of that was!

But I'm back now, and hoping to finish off this story and then write some oneshots along the way if I can.

3
$ 1.68
$ 1.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Ghostwriter
3 years ago

Comments

This was long overdue!! what the poor sheriff will do is making me curious >w< And welcome back! How've you and ozzy been?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks!

We've been coping, I guess. It's been a wild couple of weeks, and I'm happy to be back here again.

I'm still not sure where the story will go, but I do know the sheriff will be doing some crazy stuff 😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

same here XD but you've managed to survive, congratsuuuu! Well hopefully you can update more :"))) I missed people to write fiction with

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂😂 I will update more

$ 0.00
3 years ago