Life or Death

1 17
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

[WP] Everyone talks about Death and how to avoid him, but no one talks of Life, and no one ever seems to think of him until Death is nearby. The only problem is you keep seeing Life and he seems to be following you.

*****

"I'm beginning to see you as a lesser evil," I said, finally turning to face the man in the white suit as soon as I entered my apartment. He walked straight through the door even after I jammed it shut to keep him out.

"Evil? That's harsh! A bit of an exaggeration, don't you think?" he asked. already taking a seat on one of the chairs and crossing his legs. His intense stare was a bit off-putting, and I went to take a coke from the fridge before coming out to meet him.

"I'll assume you didn't want one," I said, lifting the can of coke to clarify what I was talking about. "But e9ther way, I really doubt that I'd have given you one anyway. You're not much welcome here, you know that right?"

He waved it off. "I have no interest in the body-poisoning drinks and other frivolities which you mortals indulge in. And each bottle of that coke you drink brings Death one step closer to you."

"If that means you will take a few steps away then I'll gladly drink a whole brewery. And you said you're not interested in - how did you say that- the frivolities we indulge in? And yet your hair is so greased and slick, complete with that boater hat?"

Now he looked a bit irked. "I wouldn't expect you to know this, but the 1920s had the best fashion trends and look. Nothing like the ridiculous, outlandish garbs you people put on nowadays."

"Oh yeah? Well, the 1920s called. You won't believe it, but they want their words back," I sniggered. "Outlandish? Give me a break. And when you referred to us as mortals, you mean you're an immortal?"

"The 'an' there might be a tad unnecessary. I'm just immortal because, well, I do not exist as a human being or anything like that. Actually, I'm just a force. A force who uses this form whenever I want to freely interact with this world. I'm just the fierce that governs everything that lives, blossoms, and thrives."

"And then I guess Death is the direct opposite of you."

"Bingo! Beautiful in her own dark way, mysterious, and more indifferent than cruel as you humans portray her to be. But then again, you assume she's male, so what would you know anyway?"

I shrugged it off as I sat down. "What do you want from me then?"

"Nothing. Wait, that's a vague answer that sounds untrue on most counts. Nothing serious, or much, in that case."

"I hate to break it to you but that isn't any less vague than your previous answer. 'Nothing serious' or 'nothing much' is pretty much deflecting, don't you think?"

"Smart one, aren't you? And with a smart mouth to boot! Well, truth be told, I'm just bored. Perpetual existence as a force till the end of time gets boring, you know? Every once in a while, I like to visit my favorite place where life exists - Earth, of course - and talk to a few people. Anyone who can keep me interested with an interesting dialo-"

I interjected, picking up on something he said. "Favorite? As in, there are other planets where life exists?"

"Wouldn't you like to know?" he said, a sly grin on his face. "That's for me to know and your NASA to find out, now isn't it?" he said, walking towards the door.

"Where are you going?"

"Clubbing. You don't do that, and I'm interested in something more exhilarating right now, so, yeah, clubbing. I'll be back tomorrow, so don't miss me too much!"

I now understood why people described life as fleeting and short. One minute he was absorbed in my affairs, following me. The next, he was bored and on his way to a nightclub.

5
$ 1.23
$ 1.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

Comments

[spam]

$ 0.00
1 year ago