Dirty Business

1 15
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

[WP] "The weirdest dream" you mutter to yourself as you wake up cold and sore on a metal table surrounded by college students who are STUNNED to see you awake.

Writing Prompt.

*****

"Sh*t. The weirdest dream..." I muttered as I made to stand up.

Their screams froze me in place, my upper body barely three inches above the metal table, and I fell back, groaning immediately. My back was sore and stiff, and my muscles were pretty much dead to me.

Many of the students, male and female alike, ran away from the room. There were only about five students left, and then what looked to be an attendant in a...

It wasn't a dream.

"Argh...f**k I can't move. Where the hell am I?" I asked.

They continued to look at me, mouths wide open. The attendant looked like he didn't know how he was supposed to handle the situation. Grabbing his phone with shaky hands, he called 911.

"Nine-f**king-one-one, eh?" I asked, unable to make any sharp movements. It was a bit cold in the room, and I struggled to place my hand on my crotch. Sure, I was naked.

"Was I dead or something?"

The students still stared at me, eyes wide open. One managed a nod.

"Well, that's a surprise. It wasn't a dream, huh? How long have I been dead?" I asked, the question directed to the attendant.

"Th-three weeks."

Muscular atrophy certainly didn't take any time to set in. My muscles were weak, and I could feel how lean they'd become. Three weeks. That was a long time to be away from the world.

"And I ended up in... What is this? A human anatomy dissection class?'

"Y-yeah," the attendant said. He then understood when I was going with that question. "Your parents donated your body to the College of Medicine."

Sounded pretty much like them. Philanthropists and Nice Guys in the eyes of society.

"Bullsh*t," I swore, turning my head to the right to properly assess the students on my right. It wouldn't do any good to demoralize them any further, so I kept my thoughts to myself.

The idiots can't even handle this. Running up and down, are they even cut out to be Doctors?

I restrained myself and said, "Now you know I'm not dead, can you kindly cover me up? It's cold as Antarctica in here."

Someone threw a cloth over my body, and I was content to manage that for the meantime as I brooded.

*****

Three weeks.

I'd been dead for three weeks.

I could still remember when the man had approached me.

"Anton confirmed you as collateral for his last 'losn'. And he failed to pay up, so we'll be taking our collateral - that's you - in a week from now. That's Monday, April the 23rd, 2014, 10:12:01 AM on the dot."

"Is this Anton's idea of a joke?" I said, just having disembarked a train. "If it is, then it's pretty whack. Get out of my face," I said, brushing past him.

Suddenly he was right by my side, walking right along with me. "When you were both 15, you had a blood covenant that you owed each other a favor. A 'serious' factor, as you called it. Blood is the greatest sacred contract. Anton made a deal with my employer..."

"And who the hell is your employer?" I stopped, glaring at him.

He smirked a little. "Lucifer. Satan. The ruler of the nether realm is called Hell. The bad guy, the devil, Shaitan, whatever you call him..."

"Well, you, Anton, and Shaitan can go screw yourselves."

Anton and I weren't friends anymore. Not after I caught him pants down with my girlfriend in our second year of college. Four years after we made the stupid 'blood oath' as he'd called it.

He didn't follow me after they, and I almost forgot about it. I did. Until Saturday, when he knocked on my door. I opened subconsciously, before realizing my mistake and grabbing the baseball bat by the side of the door as I saw who he was.

"What the hell are you doing here?"

"Reminding you that your soul shall be required of you tomorrow," he said with a stiff face. "Anton has cashed in his favor, and as a result, you'll be dragged to hell instead."

"And I didn't need to be notified to contest my collateral status?"

"I don't make the rules. And hell will never reject another addition to our 'guests'. Good day."

And with that, he disappeared.

Maybe I didn't take it seriously, maybe I forgot. I only set an alarm for the But I'd never forget when I was in town, coming back from a botched job interview when I was hit by a car that lost control on the road.

As I coughed up blood, unable to move, I glanced at my watch... 10:11:59

"Sh*t!' I thought as all went dark.

I spent what was three hours in hell debating while I shouldn't be there, and why my collateral status was to be revoked since I wasn't notified. In the end, intervention from heaven won out, and I was free.

But so was Anton, since someone had gone to hell - which was among the conditions of whatever deal he made with the devil.

But three hours there were three weeks in the human world.

*****

"When do you think 911 will be done with me?" I asked, turning to the attendant. "I need to god*k someone up."

*****

This is my first time going at a random Reddit prompt. I wanted to flex my hands on this while I prepared some new Murdersdale. I'm sorry for not updating for a while, but school has been hell for this past week.

4
$ 4.38
$ 4.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago

Comments

it's pretty short compared to how you wrote chapters for the murdersdale series OnO

$ 0.00
2 years ago