Assassination High: Six

1 37
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago
Topics: Series, Memory, Creativity, Book, Mystery, ...

Assassination High: Prologue

The Assassination High: Five

[WP] In a school for assassins and mercenaries, you're a beloved lunch lady. You ruefully realize that you're the only person nearly everyone trusts. Then you get framed for placing hemlock in an administrator's meal. The school board rushes to fire you, throwing the academy into turmoil.

*****

I heard Amanda raise her gun even as I raised mine instantly, hissing. "Nina, don't f*cking move or I'll blow your damn brains out!"

Amanda hollered. "Damn it, switch on a torch, will ya?"

I whipped my phone out of my pocket and turned on the torch to see Nina still in her seat, her gun on the table, and her hands up in the air. "I swear I'm not involved in the poisoning, you guys got it all wrong-"

"No one's accused you of anything yet," Amanda said, eyeing Nina icily, "Maybe it's the guilt within you that's answering on full auto reflex, Nina?"

"And yet you both have guns leveled at my forehead. I don't have to be a f*cking genius to know that. But I'm saying that you guys are horribly mistaken, and justifiably so. I'm surrendering, so you can take the gun, so allow me to explain myself-"

It was a faraway sound, but that was definitely a scream. Something scary was happening at Spyder, a mysterious set of events. I began to question whether the death of Amanda was the only objective because a lot had happened to the contrary.

"What the hell do we do now? Go outside or stay inside here? And what do we do about this one?" Amanda asked me, pointing her gun towards Nina.

"Explain yourself," I said, sitting back but not bringing my gun down. "Amanda, you can grab her gun. Whatever's happening outside now can wait until we're done with this situation. Before we can manage anything out there, we need to make sure that everything is alright within our camp."

Amanda nodded, grabbing the gun and pointing it at Nina too.

"Nina," I said calmly. She nodded. "Before I say anything, I'd like to remind you to note that there are three guns pointed at your forehead. I chose to believe you after our first talk, and right now, a part of me regrets that decision. So here's how this interrogation will go. We ask questions, you answer them to the best of your knowledge and with full disclosure. If I feel that any answer is being held back, I shoot to kill. If I am not satisfied with the answer, you're dead. If you move a muscle other than those in your face without my consent, you're dead. Understood?"

Amanda just looked at me in shock briefly before turning back.

"You're I quick to switch personalities," Nina said smirking, before seeing the look on my face and apologizing. "Sorry."

"That was strike one. You have only one strike, and you used it up. If your replies don't answer my questions, I'll kill you. I'd rather have you dead than leave you alive and then be worrying that you're going to turn on us anytime soon."

"Understood," she said calmly.

"What were you doing in this hallway, and what was the canister in your hand? Where did it come from?"

"I got it from Training Area A when I was there to make start my class. I went to set up some props for one of my camouflage sessions before I spotted it on the floor. I thought it was strange because Inosuke had used the place right before me, and his field was unarmed combat so the canister looked out of place there, so I picked it up and was walking over to his office."

"Did you meet the group of students while you were coming?"

"Yes," she said, her face a bit tentative. It checked out. If she looked completely neutral, I would have suspected that something was up. "They were talking about something in hushed tones and I rushed them off to class."

"Anything else about the students you noticed? Anything at all?" Amanda asked.

"Two of them were a bit behind the others and seemed to be talking about something else. Caprice and Viper, those two.

Caprice and Viper were codenames for the two best students from that graduating class. If what Nina said was anything to go by, then it would be important to investigate those two.

"And what happened to the canister?"

"For some reason, Inosuke was not at his office when I reached there, and I looked for him all over that area until I finally met him on the way to your office. It was then he told me that you summoned us for the meeting. I told him about the canister, and he just admitted it was his and put it in his inner coat pocket. That's all I know about that stuff!"

The lights came back on.

"That's very convenient, Nina. Now we can go back to his body and check if the canister is still on him, can't we?"

"How can you be so sure that it's still on him?"

"We aren't. We just assume that it might be. But-"

"Wait a moment," Amanda said, running back to her screen, There's one other thing we haven't talked about. The feed from the security cameras also transmits into the Surveillance Room, where a three-man team monitors the screen. Above the door in that room, there's an independent wireless camera disguised as a mirror."

She opened the feed and we saw throughout the day and the day before, all the men had been bent over their tables. "Are they dead?" Nina asked.

The footage from two days ago answered the question. The door burst open, and before the men could turn, their bodies were shown to shake violently as bullets were pumped into them.

"I'd say it's an SMG, and a silenced one at that. Obviously gotten from Eunice's office. Which means she was killed first, then the surveillance unit was done on, then the feed to my office was cut off," Amanda said, standing up.

"Nina, we go to check the body now."

As we reached the body, I was the first to comment, but they had already noticed it too. "It's been moved.

His coat was opened, and one of the tickets was turned inside out. Someone, in a hurry apparently, had removed whatever the contents of that pocket were. Someone who had unfortunately left prints of her shoes wi=hich m=were made when she stepped in the pool of blood.

"Female feet."

"Yeah," Nina said as Amanda handed her the gun.

"Your story checks out, but you'll be walking ahead of us now. We're going to the hostels, and we'll go find Caprice. She should have some answers for us."

*****

To Be Continued.

Like and Comment if you felt this chapter was good, thanks!

4
$ 7.39
$ 7.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
Avatar for Ghostwriter
2 years ago
Topics: Series, Memory, Creativity, Book, Mystery, ...

Comments

Oh it was good OwO and it's making me get cuz I have to wait for the next chapter again

$ 0.00
2 years ago