Triangular Pattern Art

3 30
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Been experimenting more with doodles in my sketchbook these last couple of days. What I´ve done is that I scoured the internet for design ideas, patterns either from a bunch of artbooks teaching the subject or youtube videos. So, I´m sharing with you guys some of the process of how I made this piece :

So, first thing I did I filled an entire sketchbook page with patterns. Basically I made a small square, filled it in. I served a bit of a warmup practice and it helped brainstorm some ideas.

Then I started focusing on shapes. I wanted to figure out to apply a pattern to a particular shape. For fun, I made a sketch in the form of a flower and filled it with whatever designs I liked best.

After the warmup was over, I start drawing basically triangles with a pencil and used a gel pen to ink the lines. Normally it´s recommended you use a liner pen instead. But because I didn´t have one at hand I had to make do with what I had.

I then slowly filled it with patterns over the course of a few days. I even had a bunch of music/youtube videos running through the background to help with the workflow. Fun fact, did you know that doodling while listening to educational content actually helps you retain information? Try it sometime.

So, that is pretty much how I created this art piece. I shared something similar on a previous article, you can click here to check it out.

Thanks for reading, if you like my content feel free to support me here or you can tip and follow me on others sites through Cointree

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Comments

Goodness, that's too much work ;-; i admire your patience for doing geometric patterns though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, I actually enjoyed making them. when you like doing something, I doesn´t seem a lot of work at all. I basically made them eith several days on intervals between them, so it didn´t felt overwhelming.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahhh we do the opposite since i usually try to finish what I'm doing asap because i want to start on something new

$ 0.00
3 years ago