Ducks at a Duck Pond

0 31
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

So, as it turns out my town has a park with this huge artificial lake which is home to a lot of birds. Sometimes I see people feeding and interact with them. I used my trusty Canon Camera to take these:

I think out of all the ducks the Mallard (Anas platyrhynchos) is my favorite because of the green head of the male. A few facts about this duck breed: They are a very social species are the main ancestor of most domestic ducks, enjoy eating plants and small animals.

They can also be found all over the world, but due to their domestication, they can end up sometimes as an invasive species in a certain area. In fact some conservation groups are worried about genetic pollution because they end up breeding with endemic duck species.
These Ducks are also monogamous which is a contrast to other ducks species who are polygamous. Ironically both males and females become aggressive during mating season in order to ward off competitors or to attract mates. Some males have even been found attempting to mate with other males as well. Their reproductive organs are also very bizarre, as unlike other birds, instead of a cloaca they have full-on external penises.
These organs are shaped like a corkscrew in other to make it easy for them to penetrate the maze-like vagina of the female.

Yes, ducks are as bizarre as they are cute.

Thanks for reading and if you like my content feel free to support me here or through Cointree

13
$ 0.18
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Comments

Those are some beautiful pics. You should try putting your photos at stock photography sites.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks I already been doing that, however it´s still kind of a work in progress, I´m still slowly building my portfolio. But lately I have been more focused on blogging I do have some links if you´re curious though: https://campsite.bio/nightanfmirrors https://www.clickasnap.com/nightandmirrors

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cool. will check out the links you shared.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my neighbor's garden there are several specimens of these ducks, and I can confirm that they have a very particular sexual behavior, and your reading key goes perfectly with what I see every now and then ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago