Drawtober Prompt #2: Wicked Apothecary

0 20
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

I´m now in the second week of the Drawtober Art Challenge. This time it wasn´t easy to come with ideas. I didn´t know if I was gonna go with simply just do a work table, someone creating medicine. Also, I wasn't feeling well this week, almost didn´t finished it on time, so i had to keep it simple.

So, I just drew a Plague Doctor managing an Apothecary Shop:

I decided not to color it this time, didn´t really have the energy for it. And sometimes simple is better.

As it is usual whenever I´m trying to get ideas for a drawing I googled to find some art references. I decided to go for a medieval style.

I did take a couple of artistic liberties, obviously, a Doctor wouldn´t be the one to manage a store. But I heard that this was to go place where people would get their medicine before Pharmacies were even a thing hence the association. Also, Plague Doctors make for a nice aesthetic.

I also heard that apothecaries would even offer bloodletting services and even have leech jars over the counter. Which is why I decided to give a small jar based on this design:

This version of the leeches jar was created in the 19th century, but I wanted to make it fancy for my fancy shop owner. People back then used to believe bloodletting could cure a variety of disorders, look how far we have come since then.

After figuring out what I wanted to do, I started with a simple sketch just to get the ideas flowing:

Added the small leech jar:

Start to fin in the selves and even add some details like cloth wrinkles:

I decide to the huge white space at the bottom to create a couple of banners so it wouldn´t look so empty and then proceed to use my 0.5 mm finer liner pen to finish the drawing.

So there you have it. Granted I´m still trying to figure out how to draw characters, so I had to figure out how to work within my own limitations. But I think that´s the point of an art challenge, to make go beyond your comfort zone and try new things.

I also did a previous prompt you can check it here

Thanks for reading, if you like my content feel free to support me here or you can tip and follow me on other sites through Cointree

3
$ 0.17
$ 0.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Comments