Drawtober #6: harvest Festival

6 24
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

This is my 6th and final drawtober prompt, and just in time to enjoy Halloween.

This time I decided to do fanart instead of original art. This character is the main protagonist of Night in The Woods game, Mae Boroski. I´ve talked about it in previous article. But the short summary, it´s a cute adventure game with talking animals, a gripping story, and a mystery in the woods. Mae returns to her hometown and tries to reconnect with old friends only to find out things have changed since she left.

During a point in the game, she dons a wizard costume to participate in the town´s Harvest Fest during Halloween, which is what I decided to draw.

Another thing I like about the game it´s that Mae has this sketchbook. As you progress in the game by talking to people and trigger certain events, you can unlock drawings. And if add in the cute animal designs that resemble illustrations from a children´s book. This game inspired me.

This time around I wanted to do something really basic and simple,I tried my best to draw in the game's style as if this was one of Mae´s doodles. So here´s how I did it:

This is actually a very easy thing to draw, cuz Mae is just nothing but shapes. I drew one big circle for the face, and three smaller triangles for the hat and ears

Mae has these really big eyes, so I drew two ovals. I also added a couple of details on the hat, like the sword and the star.

Added a couple more details to the face. Drew the pupils, drew a couple of lines for the whiskers and the fur. Her nose and mouth are just basically a semi-cross, and made one on the ears look a bit chewed up.

I drew a bell shape for the robe and added then legs and boots. I drew two lines on the middle as an extra detail.

I then decided to drew a couple of other shapes to give it a more dramatic flair and write the name of Harvest event in the game. Again, I was trying to make it like something Mae would draw in her sketchbook. I then thickened and darken the pencil lines, and clean up the excess with an eraser.

And there it is my final entry in the drawtober series. I´m actually proud of making it this far. This was my first time doing an art challenge, there were times I thought I would not finish it. I only just started to learn how to draw like last year, so there a lot of limitations that I had to workaround.

But in a way, it was a fun exercise where I had to put into practice what I´ve learned so far, and think beyond the box. Six drawings for six ideas for the entire month of October. This is why I choose to do this one because in other challenges I would have to draw every day, and I don´t always have the time and energy to do. So, I would rather just focus and take my time on a small number of drawings, quality over quantity I guess.

Thanks for reading, if you like my content feel free to support me here or you can tip and follow me on other sites through Cointree

7
$ 3.82
$ 3.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @SingleNorman
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ghostcat
3 years ago

Comments

nice drawing mate wish you best of luck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh you didn't color it in this time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah, i didn´t felt like this time around

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe next time you'll get the energy to color it in

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
User's avatar Win
3 years ago