Drawing Birds Using Photo Reference.

8 10

When I´m not trying to develop my photography skills, I´m practicing sketching. I´m pretty much a beginner and hope to get improve over time. Now, sometimes I like to join both types of creativity and make something out of it so here are a bunch of drawings that I made by using photo reference. All these images are owned by me:

1. Sparrow

This one is one of my favorites. I caught this cute sparrow during sunset, which is the golden hour due to the quality of lighting. It might not be perfect. But still, I glad I got the pose right at least.

2. White Wagtail

This a wagtail, it was given its name due to its tendency to wag its tail. A very common bird here in Europe. I took this one in Spain, but it can be also be found here in Portugal. I love them, they´re actually one of my favorites. I was really lucky to get a picture up close.

I like to think I got the pattern right.

3. Eurasian Skylark

I caught this photo of the Euroasian Skylark (Alauda arvensis) in Mindelo, Portugal. It coloring allows it to quickly blend in with its surroundings. it has a very characteristics vocalization. I love this bird because of the of the plumage at the top of its head, making it looks like it has a spiked hairstyle.. I tried my best to capture its likeness, although the beak might be a bit longer than it´s real-life counterpart.

So this is pretty much all the drawings I made far. As you can see, I still have a lot to learn about animal sketching, but I enjoyed the process in making it and learning more about these birds. If I feel more confident I might post more of my art here, if only to show off my progress.

Thank you for reading, if you like my content feel free to subscribe. You can also follow me here:

LBRY: lbry://@weirdgames#e

PeakD https://peakd.com/@ghastlygames

Fruitlab:  https://fruitlab.com/player/ghostspider

Youtube: Weird Ghastly Games

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GhastlyMirror

 Publish0X: https://www.publish0x.com/@Ghostcat

Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Ghostcat
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Great post

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very nice. I like the simplified, yet distinct results. You are probably good at creating logos or cartoon characters!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks. It ´s funny you mention cartoons, because sometimes I like to draw them for fun. Maybe I might I post them, when I have the time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They're cute, though maybe try to practice more on line strokes. Not that it's bad or anything ;-; but could still improve is all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, I´m still pretty much a beginner. I have in fact been doing some line exercises to help me with that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey that's great of you to! Try those line exercises on different medias and on different brands too. The difference is amusing if you notice it ^^ all the best and hooe you share more!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the tip, it´s encouraging to get some feedback.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow your art is so beautiful...I really like your article...Thanks for sharing your best article....and your art is too good ...I really like your art ....And your pictures is so beautiful...thanks for your article....

$ 0.00
3 years ago