The Suprise Reunion...

2 14
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

It is the weekend and I felt like putting away the serious post for a fun post since it is a rest day.

There is a saying that 20 kids can't play together for 20 years, I use to disagree with the saying as a kid until after my secondary school days were over. I had this group of classmates that we were very fond of ourselves, we couldn't go a week without seeing each other since we weren't going to school anymore (we were working towards admission into the higher institution).

We hung out at play station shops, we play football together as a team because we were used to playing together in the school football team, our parents got used to seeing us together and they do ask questions whenever we don't visit each other.

Image credit: Unsplash

It was a fun time going from house to house watching movies and eating different delicacies made by our parents in a day. That lifestyle made me thought that we were actually going to stick together like we're doing forever but that was the child in me talking.

One of us got admission and that was how the fun time we were having together reduced, others felt like they weren't serious with their life because one of us got admission instead of everyone getting into the higher institution at the same time. I wasn't affected because my case was different, I didn't have anyone to sponsor my education so I was working and saving up till I can send myself to school.

Luckily for others, they got admission as well while some traveled out of the country and we all lost track of ourselves completely. It was fun for them because it was an entirely new adventure for my friends while I was stuck in my old life.

The first and last reunion.

One of us thought of a reunion in 2012 and we all agreed to that, it was a great time together because we talked, danced, wine, and dined as well.

We agreed to always do that every year since we don't have time to hang out for the rest of the year but that didn't happen because we lost one of us in an accident on his way back to school. His death affected us because he was the brain behind the first reunion, he was very intelligent and hardworking, his qualities saw him rose to the financial secretary of Ekiti State University then before his death.

I couldn't get over the death quickly because he was at my place a day before the accident, we were together for over seven hours watching home video. To cut the story, it was the end of the reunion for the friends who couldn't do without each other.

It was even difficult for me to reach them so I thought they decided to remove me from their cliq since I didn't get admission as they did.

One of them does communicate with me but I wasn't really into our conversation but something happened in December 2020 which changed my orientation.

The only people who still contacted me told me to come visiting a day after Christmas because his mom was asking after me since I haven't visited her for over five years. I felt reluctant to go because it would be a two days outing for me but my mom encouraged me to go.

The surprise

On the twenty-sixth of December, I packed my things and left for his place. It was three hours journey but there was traffic, four hours after I called him that I was leaving home he called maybe I changed my mind since it was just a three hours trip.

On getting there, I met his mom and she was excited to see me and I was with her for over thirty minutes talking about life. The compound is a very big one and I didn't know something was going on at the other side of the compound. Immediately I dropped my things in the visitor's room, I decided to check for my friend in the compound and I got a big surprise.

I met almost half of my secondary school sitting and having fun, everyone shouted "Happy Reunion George", I was dumbfounded and didn't know what to say because I was really surprised.

Image credit: Unsplash

I started hugging everyone, it was a long queue of hugging but I enjoyed the warmth I got from embracing everyone. I ensured we observed a minute silence in memory of the departed one among us who is in a better place than we are.

We played games, talked, laughed and had lots of fun.

image credit: Unsplash

We shared secrets and told one another the feelings we had for each other during the school days but it was too late because most of our ladies are now wives and mothers. We mimicked our teachers and plan to start organizing the same event every year, we exchanged contact and started communicating ever since then.

The moment remains fresh in my head and I would have been hurt if I didn't attend that gathering that day, the preparation for the 2021 reunion is going on and I know it is going to be massive.

Lead image

4
$ 4.47
$ 4.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.05 from @Kryptlook
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Re union is always fun and surprised congrats you met each other and i like how you saved your memories here!!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I am looking forward to this year own and I pray nothing evil affect our plans.

Thanks for the comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago