The pain behind unfulfilled dreams.

4 134
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

The pain of not being able to fulfill some things in life can cause serious heartache and sometimes kill the motivation to carry on with other things in life but we must always be prepared for disappointment in life. My little experience in life has taught me to always expect the unexpected and also have a second plan in case the first plan doesn't work out for reasons that are beyond our powers.

I have seen people say don't quit in pursuing your dream in life, there are times you keep pressing but keep reaching a dead end because you don't have power over things that are knocking you down. It can be a connection, finance, and others, it is best to know when to quit than dreaming hopelessly.

The story of my life has inspired me to come with this topic.

The topic itself has a clear meaning, every human has a dream, we wanted to become one thing or the other in life but only a few have been able to fulfill that dream, that ambition they always have. A whole lot of us couldn't achieve our dreams and many are yet to accomplish that with no hope of doing so.

A lot of people have seen this as a failure in life resulting in personal condemnation, settling for something that doesn't worth 10% of our original dreams, I don't blame anyone because that small position they settled for came as a comforter, as a reliever of the pain they feel from not fulfilling their dreams at the planned time.

Apart from settling for smaller positions, many have gotten themselves into issues like drug addiction, various crimes, and even death has the intention of taking their pain away.
The thought of an unfulfilled dream can be very dangerous when kept inside the brain.

My story

Born in the '90s and at a very tender age, I have a clear picture of what I wanted my future to look like because FLYING AN AEROPLANE was my dream, I wanted to become a PILOT.

I was so focused and determined with no distraction. I got admission into junior secondary school at the age of eight, I was the youngest that everyone called me baby. Things were pretty difficult for me as I couldn't fit into the class properly, my parents enrolled me in extra coaching where I have to study even in my free time and I was back at my best. I made progress, I wrote the junior secondary school exam(junior WAEC).

I got into the Senior secondary looking like a primary schoolboy, I was bullied so many times that my parents were worried thinking I should grow up a bit before going back, they wanted me to go in computer studies for a year but I refused because I had a very big dream ahead of me. I tried my possible best to survive all challenges I encountered throughout. The dream I had kept fueling me in the journey, I always had it at the back that everything I was facing was a challenge I needed to overcome to reach the top I have always dreamt about.

I graduated as the best student from my secondary school in 2008 and even served the school as an assistant head prefect in my final year. My Waec results were out and I had my nine papers, it was the first achievement in realizing my dream but that became my stopping point and crashing point of my dream.

At that time my family has fallen apart. I saw my dreams sinking at first but I never allowed it to get into me but it finally did after a year when there was no sign of dreams coming true.

At age 15 Depression took over me, my life became boring I had no friends because I saw them as distractions during school days. I had to start fitting into the real world having friends who I thought could influence my life in good form, at a point I started developing the habit of writing stories and motivational talk which helped me a bit to do away with thinking because I even find it difficult to sleep then.

I took the step of getting a job but I could not get one because I was too young. Finally, an older friend of mine got me a teaching job for a basic 3 class in a small school because he knew my ability could pass knowledge to people. I was happy because I thought I have found a way to forget the pain behind my unfulfilled dream, I was teaching when my mates were close to finishing their tertiary education. I thought things were fine until I started seeing my friends in their National Youth Service Corp uniform.

To cut the story short I rearrange my dreams and planned something new. I knew trying to be pilot was a lost course for me because my parent was separated and mom doesn't have the financial ability to help me pursue my dreams. I made up my mind that if I cant become a pilot, that doesn't stop me from trying a new thing with my life.

I started working on my education with my little earning and got my OND first in computer science with upper credit. This happened eight years after my secondary education.

The shot is taken during my final project.

I am always planning to go further and achieve greater things even though I still feel little of the pain from my unfulfilled dream because everyone won't stop calling me Captain Tomiwa. After all, I always wanted to be a pilot.

I learned to live with it but how many out there were able to replan and didn't lose track completely.

I urge everyone in this same circumstance not to give up on their dreams, set more goals, and believe you can still achieve something great.

"A wise man once said the fall of a man is not the end of his life that is when you don't live in the pain of the fall. Set another goal and work on it.

Don't see yourself as a failure but success in construction and with continuous effort, things will fall in place for you.

Lead image

7
$ 8.22
$ 8.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

This situation is same with 70% young generation now and especially in low GDP country!

But hope you can go further with success!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. This is quite deep and you have gone through a lot. This post just inspired me to write about my unfulfilled dream of playing football and I think I will post it tomorrow.

I am sorry you went through all that. You didn't sign up for it but life happened. I am glad you are pushing yourself to even be better and that's what matters. Speaking of when life gives us lemons...

Well done, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also remembered my story then. I wasn't serious with my life and when I saw my mates already in the University and some who are younger than me were almost finishing from the University, I never allow that bother me instead, I took my life serious and determined to be the best I want to be. Even at my age now, I am not supposed to be where I am, I should have gone higher but one thing I believe is that "destiny is different". If others are ahead of me, I am also not on a spot but I am progressing. We just have to be patience and keep going. Sooner or later, we will achieve our dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a breath taking story there bro, I have even greater one that's beyond sharing, I've forgone so many dreams, practically because of the fear of my parents not loving nor appreciating it, I was so naive to realize its going to be me and just me at the end, too many to be mentioned. But Alhamdulillah I'm enjoying one of the my dream now, putting food on my family's table and I'm good with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago