Respect the difference.

3 23
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I don't know if I am the only one feeling that school teachers shouldn't be left alone to teach children values.


If you agree with me, education is very much different from moral values. In as much as our teachers try to inculcate values into children, the parents have a bigger role to play in that.

I believe that parents have more lessons to teach their kids because empowering them with education is quite different from teaching them values and to my little understanding, both are very important in life. Teaching kids social values would always help them to respect and tolerate people irrespective of the difference.

During my final year in college, a girl joined my school. She was quiet and cool but had no friends because she had a kind of disease that affected her face.

I observed she was always sitting alone during free periods, I have been noticing her for some time and I approached her, I took advantage of being the Assistant head prefect and we became friends. It was unknown to many that her face defect wasn't a permanent one, as we continued our friendship I observed that the stuff on her face was fading.

We talked about it and I got to understand what's going on with her, she felt really bad people had to stay away from her due to her challenges. The spots were finally gone and guys were crushing on her, the females wanted to be her friends.

She didn't think of how they treated her, she became friends with them and we are best of friends till today.

Putting the duty of inculcating values in children on teachers wouldn't be fair because they have more pressing issues handling lots of kids. I have the belief that parents would do better at teaching values because it is just their kid they have to teach. The smaller the number of children, the easier it is for them to handle.

Earlier this year, I witnessed a scene of a junior school girl crying while explaining a situation to her mom on their coming from school. She is a new neighbor in the environment and we often say hello because I appreciate something special in their family. 

This little girl was really sad and her mom assured her not to worry about the issue, she will report the issue to school authorities.


What happened?

This young girl is my favorite kind of human that was why I paid attention to her tears.

She is an albino and she looked really beautiful. Looking at her, I wish she was my baby girl but wishes like that hardly come true. The girl said everyone in her new school doesn't like her, they go around calling her "Afin" which is the Yoruba interpretation of Albino.

Immediately I concluded in myself that it is important for parents to train their kids to respect every difference between them and people out there. This is part of the moral values kids need to be taught but we don't usually pay attention to it and it ends up creating quarrels between kids.


The most important thing is the effects of words on the victim - people with the difference.

Many times it reduces their self-esteem, it makes them lose confidence in themselves and it get bad to the extent of feeling rejected in society. 


The difference can be height, color, shape, riches, health, mental ability, and others. Make the kids understand that been different from someone with rare conditions doesn't make you better than them.

Every child and adult must respect the difference between us and the rare kinds among us.

In the end, I was forced to say hello to the girl and made her understand that she is special/unique that was why are schoolmates are jealous

Guess what?

She smiled. 


Teaching a child is not by telling them what to do alone, teach them by example. As parents don't discriminate, don't mock or abuse people because the kids are watching you and they end up believing is the right way to live. 

I try to make my younger one's understand that they might be the one with the condition and would have loved people to treat them badly?

Lead image

6
$ 15.20
$ 15.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.01 from @Olasquare
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

This do not happen as like you are saying but this difference will keep continue till the end of this earth .. Infect if a student is less talent in school then the good student neglect him and this is how every sector children getting worst feeling ,.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right,its also the responsibility of the parents to teach their children about moral values.I am glad to know the way you handled both girls,first in your college and the other one who was crying because of others behaviour. We are not superior to each other and hold equal importance. That's why we should not degrade anyone for these differences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is what tends to affect our present generation parents tends to leave all training to teaching, which ought not to be

$ 0.00
2 years ago