My passions are valuable.

16 34
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I really didn't understand what passion meant while growing, I was into a lot of things because I was full of energy. I was very eager to do lots of things because some were trending, I engaged in some because my friends were into it and it was very competitive. As kids always wanted to boast about the things we were capable of doing but as we grow, we start dropping some of the things we are passionate about just to embrace another thing due to responsibilities and challenges that life brings our way.

MY PASSION AS A KID

I had lots of passion as a kid but ended up with just one, isn't that amazing?

That one passion, remained my most valuable passion, let's read through so you can get to know what I am talking about.

Football:

Unsplash

Some of my friends on the platform know how passionate I am about football, it is not something that just started today. I started playing football at a very young age and it was the only sport I love to participate but I was always dragged in races and long jump because of my height.

Unfortunately, I couldn't play at a professional level because I started getting injuries that had to keep me off the field. I switched from playing to watching and it never felt like it uses to be.


Music:

Unsplash

This was another thing I loved doing but I didn't take it seriously because I didn't see a future with it. It was church music and I loved to play musical instruments like drums. I was very attached to any kind of drum even though I wasn't great at everything but I get spiritually attached while playing.

You need to see me playing, I didn't do much of the signing even though I knew that I could do it because my voice was terrible and my superiors in the choir were good at snatching opportunities from me.


Writing:

Unsplash

This is my best of the best when talking about passion because it has rewarded me more than any passion I had as a kid.

I started writing in junior school just like every other kid but there was more to it for me because I saved my money to buy books where I write short stories with the hope of publishing them when I grew. I was fond of reading stories then because it gives me lots of ideas on what to write about, I had a teacher then who inspires me a lot, and seeing my friends especially the females' smile when I write love letters was more inspiring.

After things got twisted immediately after secondary school, I started losing my touch with writing. I was depressed because my future looked cloudy at a young age and the only thing I did was pouring out my mind into my jotter, it was my best companion then because despite me knowing that it wouldn't reply to me, I just kept telling everything by writing my thoughts in it.

At a point, I discovered that depression was the only thing that made me write which was wrong because life isn't just about pain or suffering, it involves our happy moments as well. To get me out of that zone, I started trying different things like writing about sport, politics, movies, traveling, nature, and others. It wasn't for earning purposes, I just do them then and give them to anyone to read so their feedback is what I use to correct myself but little did I know that it would be my most rewarding and valuable passion.

I started earning from writing after higher institution, a friend introduced me to blogging on Steemit and I was so desperate to have my website but I couldn't complete the process then. I engaged on Steemit for some time and decided the stop when I wasn't getting attention because most of my followers weren't interested in my kind of content.

After some time, I was introduced to Uptrennd that ended up crashing. I lost a lot and never thought I would be inspired to do more with writing elsewhere but the passion I had for it kept burning hot that I just writing down topics that I wished to develop.

I was away from writing for almost or over two months because I felt having a passion that doesn't have value or a passion that doesn't have any impact on you positively is not worth it and there came Read.cash, a platform that gave me an audience and made my passion valuable by giving me rewards in Bitcoin cash.

Since joining, I haven't had any form of regret and my day gets worse when I know something would prevent me from engaging. The rewards have been very helpful in my daily life, it has even helped me reach out to people even in difficult times.


Drawing:

I did this for quite some time and I haven't been confident of this passion and to make it worse, it is not something I do willingly except there is a serious need for it. Whenever I see people doing it, I always have this mindset that I can do it also but I won't try except I was required to do it.


Cooking:

Unsplash

I don't see cooking as a passion anymore because it is something I do every day and I feel great doing it always.

If I am not mistaken, it is the passion that paid me first in life because I started making puff puff and doughnuts for sale at my mom shop immediately after school but I was too childish and didn't like it when people called my puff puff seller because I wanted more than just that in life.

The funny thing was that I still sold it after my higher institution. The plan was big but I ended that dream halfway because it required huge money setting up standard snacks and tea/coffee shop but that doesn't stop me from making it for my family.

Aside from snacks, I cook a lot and the kitchen happens to be my favorite place in the house.


I am not in any way condemning anything we are passionate about but I am fond of encouraging people to work more on their most valuable passion, mine is writing and that is why I put my best into it all the time.

I was so busy on Sunday that I could barely engage on the platform, I wasn't feeling too great after watching the football matches so I decided to postpone my article till today. I am sorry I haven't been able to visit many articles that were posted yesterday but I will do my best to go around today.

Lead image

15
$ 8.60
$ 8.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 9
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Do what you love and love what you do, and you're going to be successful. Btw, feel better ok?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always have it in mind to compose songs and sing to people as my passion then even though it is still in me a little but I couldn't follow it up because I discovered I can play with rhymes and not necessarily write. It was during lockdown I discovered this and at some point I thought of writing also and that's how I started writing and since then it has been what I love to do everyday even before i got to know about readcash. Passion are valuable indeed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well we have some common passions hehe except that of football. I still love to do cooking , writing and drawing and I do them on regular basis. True eeff, smaller ourselves have those passions, which grow as we grow and change into some new ones

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, there are so many things we do today, thinking they are our passions but the truth is, we do most of them just to belong, or to feel accepted. Football was also something I loved doing at a younger age but I wasn't really a great player. Just loved playing anyway. But I had to give it up and stopped playing when I realised that it didn't make sense doing something I'm not good at, especially when I just do it for the fun of it. Instead, I diverted that time and energy into blogging. Need I say how great that decision turned out to be?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are one of the people I admire so much in the blogging world since I met you and it would have been terrible if you didn't do blogging because football might eventually end up as a waste of time for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My passion as a kid was eating and playing 🤣 I only pursued this passion in writing when I joined readcash

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Do you mean, you didn't write before joining??

You have the best passion in the world because every child love eating and playing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the passion in writing. It really helped a lot specially when shared to other people, in a way that someone can relate and someone can give their comments and opinion that can somehow help us to view things in life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Writing is one of my best passions because it gives opportunity regardless of who we are. It has helped change lives and with platform like read.cash, everything looks a lot greater.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so true. You can really write whatever you like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved this article of yours. You really do explore different passion you had. And I think all of this was your valuable passion even you said its not. But what I read it is. Because its been part of your life journey.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Our passion is part of our journey and it is one of the things that made us happy when life kicks us in the butt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes your right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being kids was something totally different from now

My passions got ended up with time cricket was my favourite thing to watch and it's been 4 years didn't watched

Was good at drawing then stopped it with time only passion left is writing music and I don't know how to cook except boiling egg, water, tea that's it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Are you serious that you can't cook? It is nothing though. We end up changing our passion while we grow but the memories we had with them were really beautiful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup I'm serious.... Indeed i can't forget beautiful memories

$ 0.00
2 years ago