I have the gift to read minds.

8 34
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

I don't know if this is a gift but I am good at reading people's minds if I get too close to them and this has made me avoid/get lots of people because of the terrible idea/ good things they think about about me.

Nigeria is a country where people judge a lot of things from a physical perspective and humans are not excluded. I wouldn't say that they are completely wrong about me, some of their claims are right but many of them are wrong. Let's run through what I think people see when they look at me.


A big boy: I have always lived a simple lifestyle and when people don't know what you are worth, they just assume you are financially okay if you don't cross your boundaries with people, stay contented with what you have, and keep a very low profile.

This has been my way of life because I don't value material things that much, I love to live very simply. My stature also backs up their thoughts and it is easier for them to start an argument with me when I say I am broke, there are times I just feel like "do these people know me more than I know myself?".

I wonder how being tall and having big bones guarantees that you are living comfortably, I am not very surprised because many Nigerians are just breaking free from the idea that fat people are healthy; they are always like "a person is fat because he or she is eating healthy meals".


He is a flirt: That's magic, females both young and old usually feel very comfortable talking to me about anything so when they see females around me a lot, they think I am just been a flirt, and look is not helping matters as well.

My friend's lover sought advice from me unknowing to me that she hasn't talked to her boyfriend about it, I don't know why but I asked my friend about the development of the issue and he looked at me with a funny look.

After some days, he said he doesn't trust me around his girl. He is not the first, I don't know if I am too available that's why I am been seen as a flirt but that's just me being myself, I love to help people in any way I can and I am not a flirt.


A caring guy: I think, I will agree with them on that because I always try to be caring as long as it doesn't hurt me, there are times it ends up hurting.

I remembered standing up for a pregnant woman on a bus not knowing we would be stuck in traffic for over 3hrs, I had to get down from the bus to sit somewhere by the roadside until the road was free. Her appreciation that day made my day and I didn't regret doing it.
As long as I have the power to do something to help, I will definitely not hesitate to do it.


He is intelligent: Due to being broke, I have lived mostly in environments where people think I am intelligent because they have little or no education. They refer their children to me to help them with assignments, they call me to solve problems in the neighborhood. These things aren't big deals but they think I am intelligent and direct a lot of things at me.

What do they like about me?


Transparency and honestly: I have a neighbor who uses my bank account till today for business even though we are not living together again, I once asked him what if abscond with his money and he said he trust me very well.

I am a very open person, I try to be as honest as possible and it has made me win the heart of many people wherever I find myself.


Act of kindness: I am always willing to help even strangers and many people like me for that, I have made new friends just with a little act of kindness.

I feel it is necessary to do some things as long as I can do so, I have had strangers come to my aid as well, and being kind to others is just a way of me giving back to humanity. Being kind isn't about giving money always, there are numerous ways people need us and we shouldn't be obsessed with the idea that only giving money means helping.


Love for kids: I can't walk quietly through my street, especially during holidays, I have kids who are always watching out for me and the moment they see me, I hear them screaming uncle George.

I love kids a lot and people like me for that, my apartment is always open for them but I had to restrict them at a point and it didn't take a pinch of what I feel for kids being around me. I became friends with many parents because of their kids, the kids are always like, uncle George is my friend and their parents will be like, he is old enough to be your father; they wouldn't say that if they knew my age.

What do they dislike about me?


My Social Life: My social life is pretty terrible and people complain about this a lot, I don't like going to parties, and I rarely hang out with people.

I bought Aso-Ebi about three months ago for a party and I didn't remember the event until a few weeks after the event, I saw the celebrant and she was angry to the extent that she refused to greet me.

I didn't understand what was going on until I remembered the party, I called someone to ask about the day and it was about 2-3 weeks passed. My social life is bad, I have disappointed people when it comes to out and some people just disliked me for that.


My height: While some people find my height cool, I have seen people who dislike it as well. I hear things like, you are intimidating me often, I was stunned the day a uniform woman told me that.

It is beyond my control and I love myself the way I am, I respect how they feel so most times I try to make them feel cool by starting a conversation to put a smile on their faces.


Lead image.

6
$ 0.60
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 3
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

Wow you really have a kind heart! You even help strangers without asking anything in return...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dislike with parties and rarely hanging out with people are something people should not hate about you. We have our own perspectives and behaviors in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously speaking I have the gift of reading my husband's mind. 😁 Just one look I know what he's thinking lol.

It's nice to know and thank you for sharing how awesome you are! A man with a big heart. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People also trust me and they know what I can do and not do. There was a time someone denied saying I can't do such a thing when I jokingly told them I would involve in extra marital affairs when I get married and they were like “I trust you. Is it something you have never done as a single, you will do when you marry”.

I used to be happy because they know some things I wouldn't ever dare to do because of my personality. But something they dislike about me is not associating with people especially asking me to follow them to an event and I would turn them down saying I don't have time or I wasn't invited.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honesty and care for others is the thing which is important for a peaceful life. I am happy you have both these attributes in your personality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You living distant from each other and the person still have this trust in you, it's actually not rampant seeing cases like this.

Moreso, about telling people about yourself and they still don't believe, some people assume and conclude that others are living healthily, but that's not the case, the person might be managing himself or herself but others won't want to relate

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, he does. I have persuaded him to open an account but he is not ready to do so.

People a see different you and even conclude on things that ain't even real, we just have to be ourselves regardless of what they think.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That person's trust is literally Making strong and solid stance in you

$ 0.00
1 year ago