Perks of Adulting

0 21

Adulting can be terrifying, based on what I've read in random posts, observed from people I know, and heard from people who have shared their experiences with how exhausting everyday responsibilities can be.

Schooling is emotionally draining in every student's view, as I recall from primary school. I can't wait to graduate with a degree and look forward to a future where I can have a decent job in the field that I've always wanted, the hospitality industry.

High school happened so fast that even I cannot expressed it with words, it was indeed true that junior and senior high school was the most exciting part in schooling. At those moment I still the person who dream the same dream when I was in child, thinking after 10 years I could become a successful person. Time changes our perspectives on life; from a child who dreamed big, I turn into a person who became afraid of my own future. College, a time of realization and a stepping stone in transformation into adulthood. By this year in my second year in college I do had undergone into a lot of introspection. Realizing that I couldnt dream that big enough no more, they always say "libre lang mangarap" (its free to dream). However, in views dreams is such a big responsibility that you needed to commit yourself into.

What is the purpose of dreaming if ones can be so timid and lazy?

We shouldn't do talk big things if we couldn't keep our promises of gaining it in the future. This is simply my point of view on the subject, as what I've observed with dreams isn't something that can be easily grasped. Apart from the length of dedication on how far individual could go, a lot of investment in hardship was required to obtain it. Knowledge isn't always sufficient; in the real world outside of school campuses, what matters is a person's determination to thrive in order to assess their abilities.

Although my perspective on adulthood can be so negative, I also had this thing that I now have most of the time where the earlier I get up, the more motivated I feel to be productive all day. I had the feeling that I needed to keep myself busy all day, and at the end of the day, it felt great to be able to accomplish so much. Do it Yourself (DIY) projects were one of the things I did to keep myself occupied. When I was rummaging through my closet the other day, I came across a very large shirt that had been given to me by a relative; the shirt was supposed to be for my father, but I asked them to keep it, which is why it's in my closet. I looked through Pinterest for ideas for what I could use as a concept for the blouse I wanted to make out of that big polo shirt. And since we didn't have a sewing machine, I was determined to sew it by hand.

Transforming an old shirt into a new piece has probably become a hobby of mine. I had a lot of shirts from previous years that I had made from scratch. The polo shirt I had was too big for me, and after measuring it, I estimate that I'll be able to get two new shirts out of it. I'm almost finished with the first one, and I think it looks nice when worn. I've started the other half, but I think it will take a long time to finish because I'm busy with schoolwork this week.

I'm just glad that even at this age, I can still find a lot of things to do that I didn't think were important when I was younger. Adulthood can be frightening, but I believe I need to enjoy what I can do in order to improve my abilities and feel more confident about the challenges that lie ahead.

 

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Support and Follow me

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

1
$ 0.21
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments