Treat me the way you want me to treat you

0 13
Avatar for Gege
Written by
3 years ago

While at supermarket, looking for a gift to my supervisors and manager, I saw a cup with a message "Treat me the way you want me to treat you". I remember my widowed manager in this line.

She speaks on us in a rude way and bossy tone even in the new guy supervisor. It feels like when she talk you need to follow her. Mostly, when our manager is present.

Then one day she asks us to have a meeting with her. We talked about work and I don't know how it happened that we are talking about ourselves already. She told me that my attitude is not good. The way I answer to her.

I told her that"We're just the same. You talk to us in that way and I need to explain my side. I just told you that it's not my fault. You're the one who took our documents. And I'm talking to you the way you're talking on us." Then she told me, "Still it is not right to talk back to your supervisors. It's not good. I grew up with an old lady that's why this is how I'm talking to you".

That's when I stopped talking and just ask myself, why can't I treat her the way she's treating us? Is it because we're just an assistant and she's our supervisor?Why does they want us to adjust but they can't even adjust for us? Are we sensitive or they are being insensitive? She wants us to respect her but she can't respect the other supervisor and us? Is it really normal? Am I doing it wrong? If yes, I will change but it doesn't feel right.

I can't let her blame me for everything. I need to stand up for myself and my colleague who doesn't explain their side. I can't stand looking for my friends crying because they can't talk. They don't want to talk and just want to stay silent. It's not right.

At first, I start doubting myself but in the end I realized that she knows something I don't know and I know something that she doesn't know. We should help each other but she's building a space. And we're not going to take that space if she doesn't want to share it with us.

We can't us people to give respect. It should be earned. That's why if she can't respect us we can't give it to her too. It should be give and take. Not take and take.

I believe that one day, there will be a person who will let us realized all things that we did. It's what they call karma. Whether its good or bad karma it will eventually get back to you someday. That's why lets do good things to other people.

And think if how you want them to treat you. It's not bad to be true to yourself but also be considerate to other peoples feelings. Because what if it was you who were treated that way? Will you be happy or get hurt? Think again.

2
$ 0.47
$ 0.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Gege
Written by
3 years ago

Comments