Inching Towards the end of 2021...

0 18
Avatar for GeekAStitch
2 years ago

Today I had errands to run. Usually, I do this with my brother. However, he'd been sick for the past few days and is now on the road to recovery. I didn't want him to make the effort of going out and risk having him exhaust himself back to sickness.

Everything had been going well so far. That plummeted soon enough. I came across a few young adults smoking on the sidewalk I had to pass through. Side note, I'm asthmatic. Chronically so. Just a little whiff of that nicotine smoke had me hyperventilating behind my two-layered mask meant to keep me safe from COVID.

Holy freaking hell.

Bad enough that I had bags of heavy load plus a mini stroller to push of stuff I bought but then these smokers had to add to my ever growing anxiety. I suppose it was wrong of me not to bring my inhaler for a supposedly 15 minute errand but I still felt so frustrated with the predicament.

That was how a 15 minute errand turned to a quarter of an hour outside as I had to find a well ventilated area far away from human traffic as well as vehicles spewing whatever toxic stuff that could aggravate my asthma. What an afternoon.

Note to self: ALWAYS BRING YOUR INHALER EVERYWHERE

Setting aside that rant, I feel it a bit ridiculous to post something like this as a first entry here at #ReadCash. I guess my frustration was mounting and I just felt so compelled to write. One of those days, you know?

2021 is creeping to a close and, surprisingly, this kind of happening is a yearly occurrence this time of year. Sickness, stress, mounting frustrations, and the ever present anxiety. It's almost a comfort to find that part of my life being consistent in the midst of this pandemic.

Talk about silver lining.

Another positive thing is that tomorrow is a holiday. I get to sleep in! Small adult pleasures to look forward to. For now though, I'm still at work, currently doing overtime. I feel a little rebellious dance coming up as I play truant writing this.

Insert awkward dancing here. Imaginary of course because I'm not alone in the office at the moment.

I realize this isn't a very lengthy entry but I suddenly feel a sense of pressure as I recall my essay days back in college. How to end this article? If all else fails, let me just default to a quote from one of my favorite movies.

"In case I don't see you, good afternoon, good evening, and goodnight." - Truman Burbank

Also, if you read this far, thanks and I hope you have a spanking good day!

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Librarian
Avatar for GeekAStitch
2 years ago

Comments