Karma

0 15
Avatar for GeePads
1 year ago

I Believe in Karma:

Karma is a Sanskrit word that translates to "Action." I think that all of our actions have an equivalent result or outcome. I believe that what you give out to the world, it gives it back to you and in this sense, this means that if you give out positivity or negativity you receive the equivalent value of it. Whether our action is good or bad, to help or bring someone down, to be honest or to deceive someone I believe that it is all written down and evident as a karmic reaction. What goes around comes around is a metaphor or another way to say it.

When I was young, I was verbally abused and bullied by one of our distant relatives. I still clearly remember the exact words and how she used to tell me that I would not be able to find a job because I am too small, too dark, and not pretty. Since we were struggling financially, she would always tell me that my younger siblings and I will not finish our studies. She also used to compare me to her daughters, who are tall, fair skinned, and pretty. She would always tell me that her daughters will not be having a hard time looking for a job in the future because of their physical appearances. She can say it out of nowhere and in a very natural way as if she couldn't hurt other people.

Like the old dictum: "Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never break me." I didn't let those words get to me. I didn't talk back; I was so determined to prove her wrong. By the age of 18, I was able to find a job, and I started working. I was able to help my parents financially and for years, I strived so hard to send all my younger siblings to college. As the old saying goes, "You will reap what you sow." My younger siblings are now working in their respective professions, and they are the ones who encouraged and supported me to finish my studies. I believe this is a positive karmic reaction.

As mentioned earlier, karmic reaction can either be positive or negative. It will not always be full of blessings, sweet-sounding and full of compassion. Suppose that our actions involve hurting other people physically, mentally, or emotionally; we can't anticipate that Karma will react kindly. For instance, my aunt’s daughters, whom she compared with me and said that they will not have a hard time finding job opportunities were not able to find a job nor experience working at all. Some of them have already started their own families and yet they still depend on their parents for food, shelter, and other expenses. I think that it is not good to think ill of anyone nor to wish ill on anyone, however if I were to look at the current situation of their family and link it with karmic reaction, one can conclude that this may have been the outcome of their harsh actions in the past.

People do wicked things at times; they may have or may have not been aware of how their actions deeply affected other people. I do not know if they still remember how poorly they treated us in the past, but it doesn't matter whether they do or not. I think what will matter at this point is for them to have their own realization that they should try their best to treat other people kindly. I hope that their future actions will consist of more positive behavior and in turn reap them of positive karmic reactions.

2
$ 1.85
$ 1.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for GeePads
1 year ago

Comments