What Working Out 6 Times A Week For A Year Did To Me

0 8
Avatar for Garret
Written by
2 years ago

I started working out around January of 2020, by now I have made a lot of progress in my strength and ability. Every day (besides Sundays) I do 250 pushups, 300 sit-ups, 50 pull-ups, and 100 dips. You’re probably wondering why the title says 1 year of working out when clearly I started 2 years ago. I’ll explain later in the article. I’ll be getting into what exercising I started doing as a beginner, the progress I started to make, the injury, and how I got past the rough demotivating times.

How I Began

I wanted to start exercising because I wanted to be stronger and be in shape. I made a deal with myself to do at least 20 knee pushups every day. At this time I could barely do 5 pushups. Eventually, after a month I could do 15 pushups in a row. I started doing fewer knee pushups and more legit pushups. A few months in and I could max out at 30 pushups in a row. I even saw some crazy mussel growth in my chest, abdomen, and arms. I started feeling more confident in myself until disaster struck.

The Injury

I slipped falling on my butt, I instantly feel aggravating pain. My butt felt a burning feeling. I lay there for a few minutes. As I began to calm down I research what this jolt of pain was. It turns out I badly injured my tailbone. It took take months or even years to heal. I decide to sit down, bad idea! I can barely sit in a chair. It was even difficult to walk. This wasn’t the worst to come either. Sleeping was a nightmare. I give myself 2 weeks to heal before exercising but after my break, my tailbone felt no better. I was not motivated in the slightest to work out. I don’t blame myself, it was terrible.

When Things Got Better

Fast forward a few months later and I start to feel better. It’s still uncomfortable to sit but that's about it. I started to do way more upper body workouts and had a good diet. By then my abs were less defined, my arms were smaller, and overall I was a lot weaker. I was determined to get back where I was a few months prior. I start seeing progress in my strength, and my tailbone was much better so I could start some applique exercises. After several hardworking months, I finally got back where I was.

Scaling It Further

After that horrific time passed I started to do up the reps in my exercises and eat more proteins. I was not trying to bulk up but just get a little bigger. I eventually scaled my pull-ups from 20 reps to 50, my dips were 50 to 100. I also added lower body workouts. You could say I was even working out too much. I would take breaks from time to time with hunting, hanging out with family, or if I was fatigued. I even started training MMA (Let me know if you want a blog about that).

What To Take Away From This

I suggest working out especially if you have so much time on your hands. It builds your self-esteem, strength, and even friendships. Just remember to stay motivated and dedicated. I know you want to quit sometimes, but the days you keep going even when you want to quit are certainly the most important by far. Building good discipline is key to a great life, no matter what you do. Thank you for reading this article. If you have any questions or just want to say something please leave a comment down below.

2
$ 4.34
$ 4.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Garret
Written by
2 years ago

Comments