What MMA Classes 3 Times A Week Did To My Fighting Ability

0 7
Avatar for Garret
Written by
2 years ago

If you didn’t know already I'm a major workaholic. I hustle like you wouldn’t believe. One of those hustles was going to MMA class. Was I going to get in shape? No, I previously worked out a year and a half beforehand. I was going to master or at least be able to defend myself. It was an hour's drive every time but that didn’t stop me. There could be a tornado and I would still go. In this blog ill be discussing when I started, how I improved, the injury, and lastly when I’m going back.

When I Started

You're probably wondering how the idea arose in the first place. Well, I started because I always wanted to learn how to fight and after working out I thought it was a perfect time. The day I officially started was August 5th, 2021. I drove for 1 hour before arriving. I was nervous at first but I eventually get comfortable going there. I walk in to sign up for their MMA classes. The classes consist of jujitsu and Muay Thai. These are some of the major fighting skills people in the UFC have.

The Drastic Improvement

After around the month, I could hang in there and properly practice the moves with the guys without struggle. They even had some brutal workouts that I couldn’t handle, but now I can. At this stage, I started to feel comfortable and calm. I was not nervous anymore. When rolling with the guys I noticed that I could beat them. It got to the point where every time we rolled it would be a fight for who won. After so much improvement and so many new people to talk to, disaster struck.

The Injury

As you probably know my other article “What Working Out 6 Times A Week For A Year Did To Me” touched on this injury. It was a tailbone injury. I don’t believe I went into detail as to what happened so ill do that now to clear some things up. I was practicing jujitsu downstairs on my concrete floor, you know where I'm going with this, and I slipped and fell on my tailbone. Ouch! It hurt so bad that my butt felt like it was on fire! I could barely walk, sit, or even sleep for that matter. It was bad. After like 6 months I finally felt good again. That for sure is the worst injury I ever had (so far).

When I'm Going Back

I'm speculating and I believe it's sometime in March or April. I'm first trying to get back (skill-wise) where I was. I'm practicing every day now. In time ill get back and then exhale where I was prior to the injury. I’m so excited to see all the amazing people I met along the way. I’m also intrigued by how much better they got in that long period of time. Only time will tell my friend.

To Summarize

I drastically improved my technique in a short period of time. The injury sucks but ill be going back in the middle of March or early April. I had a blast going to MMA class and I can’t wait to do it again. Thank you for reading all the way through. If you liked this make sure to give me a clap! Have any questions? Make sure to put them in the comments. Have a wonderful rest of your day!

1
$ 0.09
$ 0.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Garret
Written by
2 years ago

Comments