One Man's Snow is Another Man's Harmattan

4 35
Avatar for Gaiom
Written by
2 years ago

Growing up, as a young boy in Nigeria who and seeing snow on TV, I have always been excited curious as to why it doesn’t snow in my country (Nigeria) as it did in other parts of the world. Not until when I started learning Geography in secondary school did I understand why. The world is a very big place, and there are many things to see in it. Also, some things are peculiar only to certain parts of the world.

I have always been curious about the snow, how ice flakes fall from the sky, covering every thing with a blanket of white, the cold that comes with low and subzero temperatures, the jolly of making snow figures, wearing thick clothes to stay warm and all other things I crave to experience someday.

I am particular when asking people who have been to temperate regions how winter is like, it is one of the things I like asking about, asides societal structure, cultural development, food among others. Traveling the world is one of my life goals, as there are many things I want to see for real other than on television. Saint Augustine said “The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.” I’d rather read the whole book and not just a page.

In Nigeria, there are basically two distinct seasons which are: The Rainy Season and The Dry Season which is also called Harmattan Season. It usually starts late November until mid March. Basically, the length of winter in some part of the world. So, any time you can feel harmattan, you just know Christmas is around.

Harmattan in Nigeria is caused by the North-East Trade Wind blowing from The Sahara desert, down to The Gulf of Guinea that expands along The Atlantic coast of West Africa. It is characterized by dry dusty cold wind and temperature variation at different hours of the day.

I am not much a fan of the dry season, except for the cold mist that greets the early hours of mornings with soft tenderness, which I like so much. The cold of the morning disappears as the sun rises. Because of the low humidity, there is less cloud and the intensity of the sun is high, and burns the skin like it is meant to cook it. With the scorching sun comes the cold dusty dry air. I always wondered how air can have all those properties at the same time.

During the harmattan season, I am almost never comfortable because of the dry dusty air I breathe in which causes nasal congestion and discomfort. But it seems COVID-19 has pushed many people to use their nose masks more especially during this time, as it helps reduce the dust being inhaled in.

Another reason I dread the harmattan is aside from the nasal discomfort that comes with every breath of its dry dusty air is the dryness of the lips due to low humidity and high heat intensity. Perhaps if we had thinner lips, we wouldn’t suffer much in that regard. Only, fuller lips are an environmental adaption to the high temperature that comes with staying close to the equator.

The silver lining of the harmattan that makes it easier to bear is the constant reminder that it is the season of love (Christmas and New Year).  The time spent with family and loved ones, time spent making good memories that will stand the test of time. Time spent spreading love around.

I suppose there are demerits of winter too, even though I crave for it like it is the best thing in the world. The effects of being exposed to cold such as frostbite, pneumonia, among others are life threatening. I am merely curious to experience something different from what I have been experiencing all my life, something new.

With that, I’ll close with the words of Hans Hoffmann which goes “The whole world, as we experience it visually, comes through the mystic realm of colour”

THANK YOU FOR READING ✍🏿

Special thanks to @BCHouseVE for the sponsorship renewal, I really appreciate the kind gesture and the faith you have in me.

3
$ 0.55
$ 0.50 from @emily2u
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.02 from @BCHouseVE
Sponsors of Gaiom
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaiom
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

In Malaysia, my country, I don't get snow as well! And we also have only two types of weather - hot and thunderstorm. HAHA!

photo.jpg

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe. I suppose Malaysia is in the Tropics too. Thanks so much for the gift, happy to have gotten a tip from one of the elves 😁😁🥰🥰☺☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People that are in the temperate region are looking for ways to run out, you on the other hand want to go there 😆 places like Canada experience Sub-Zero temperature, harmattan is a little kid when it comes to that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what they say, about not valuing what you have, until you lose it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago