My Favourite Fictional Characters

4 44
Avatar for Gaiom
Written by
1 year ago

Much as I am not a big fan of movies I am a fan of TV series, and I have had my fair share of it over time. Although, I haven't watched a lot of series in the past couple of months, today, I will be writing about some of my favourite TV characters from different TV series I have watched. So, in no particular order, I will list them and try to explain why they are my favourite. They are:

Sheldon Cooper (The Big Bang Theory)

Played by Jim Parsons and arguably the smartest character in the show with his eloquent grammar, unending factoids and OCDS, I couldn't help but love this character despite all of his imperfections. For some reason, I see myself in him, and even envied him for being unapologetic about who he was. Maybe in the first couple of seasons, I was sad that he'd never get to experience what being human really is, and not experiencing romantic love is something I would not wish on anyone at all. Well, it was easy to wonder in the first season or two if Sheldon will ever find love and if he does find it, will he know? Perhaps, I underrated love by thinking it couldn't break through Sheldon's walls or that it isn't powerful enough to blind anyone to his imperfections how ironic, that here I am writing about him in an article titled My Favourite Fictional Characters. I won't be surprised if people say that he was their least favourite character in the show, but they would agree that he did have his awesome moment too.

Klaus Mikaelson (The Originals)

A character well executed by Joseph Morgan, I have many of his quotes from this show in my head, and I'd often say them to myself and to other people too. Klaus was a formidable character who puts family above all else (not sure if he puts family above himself too), never intimidated and really a powerful character who fears no one. But his ego and paranoia often got the better of him. You just got to love this character and his love for diabolical plans, tactics theatrics, confidence and willingness to be the bad guy.

Walter White (Breaking Bad)

Also known as Heisenberg, he was a phenomenal character played by Bryan Cranston. A man diagnosed with terminal cancer decided to make the most of his last days, making enough money to sustain his family after he is gone. Thanks to his understanding and knowledge in Chemistry he could make methamphetamine like no other can. I have learnt how far the burden of responsibility and love can push us. Even though Walter had to take the fastest route to achieving his goal. Well, giving his circumstances, it wasn't like he had much of a choice.

Phoebe Buffay (Friends)

Lisa Kudrow really stole my heart playing this character in the popular sircom Friends. She was elegant and I admired how comfortable she was being the odd one in the group. That is not to say that other characters do not have their shortcomings, but if you have watched the show, you'd agree with me. She taught me how important it is to be comfortable being yourself and not minding what others think. Although, unlike the aforementioned characters, she wasn't what I would call the lead character, so much people may not really pay attention to her. I couldn't help but do just that, as she stole my heart. LoL.

Tyrion Lannister (Game of Thrones)

You know, after watching this character, I have since seen Peter Dinklage as the witty, intellectual... character Tyrion was. Known to be a strategist, he can literally talk his way out of anything. He is a representation of how powerful the ,imd is, and the importance of knowledge. In fact, I can say that he was the only reason I watched Game of Thrones to the end. Oh well, what is a good series without a witty character eh?

Raymond Reddington (The Blacklist)

Don't think one article is enough for me to talk about James Spader's character in The Blacklist. A criminal mastermind whose intellect arguably played a key role in building his criminal empire. A man full of anecdotes for any situation he is in. Someone who doesn't forgive disloyalty but only loyal to himself. I always love seeing him on my screen.

Disclaimer : This is by no means aimed to glorify the above characters, but to give my understanding and perception of them.

5
$ 0.59
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @FarmGirl
+ 2
Sponsors of Gaiom
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaiom
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

These sound interesting to watch. I've only seen GoT :) Thanks for sharing your thoughts on them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks FarmGirl. I hope you like GoT? 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've only watched The Originals and Game of Thrones, and we have the same favorite characters. But I know Sheldon Cooper since I have watched Young Sheldon and some episodes of Big Bang Theory. Intelligent and clever characters are the best, even though they have smart mouths. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yes, although, I feel Young Sheldon cast a forced shadow on the character

$ 0.00
1 year ago