Crisis in my city, BCH to the rescue

2 194
Avatar for Gabu
Written by
2 years ago

This shit happens all the time. No, I’m not talking about the crisis just yet. I’m actually talking about the irresponsibility of this my local bank. Few months ago, I receive a message from my bank informing me of a mismatched information on my account and prompting me to visit the nearest branch as soon as possible. I hurriedly went without hesitation in order for my account not to be restricted. I was given a form comprising of so much ridiculous questions to fill which I carefully did. After all the paper work and the queuing in line, I went home thinking my problem had been solved.

Exactly three weeks after that, I got another message; same content as the last one but this time with a stronger warning emphasizing on the fact that my account could be restricted or even frozen if I didn’t visit the bank as soon as possible. I became angry and disturbed. As a student, I hardly have time to do things outside the academic schedule during week days and the bank doesn’t open on weekends. I still managed to make out time and revisited that same branch even though they couldn’t solve my problem the last time but I had no option. It is the closest hence, the most easily accessible to me. I was unfortunate enough to still meet same set of customer care representatives. I tried to remind the young man of how I had been there three weeks earlier and he assured me that my complaint had been successfully attended to but he had a facial expression that kept implying “who the hell are you?”

Again, I was required to fill that form same as the last one. I did this time with a little bit of hesitation but I just had to. After leaving the bank that day, I made sure to remind one of the customer care representative to please ensure that my case is attended to and not to leave my form lying on the desk until discarded like they did the last time. With obvious rudeness, she nodded and I made my way out of the bank that day. I wished I never had to go in there again. Days passed and everything was fine. I didn’t receive any message again and my account was functioning normally.

Then yet again, two weeks ago came another threat from the bank through their usual means of text messaging. Oh my God! I regretted the day I opened account with these people. This frustration is just too much for me to bear. This time, I was given an ultimatum of 16th August 2021. How could I make up to that now when I have tons of activities planned out already? This amongst many other questions were just there playing in my mind. I finally decided that I was going to visit the bank on the 16th which was this week’s Monday. But as I was making my own plans, little did I know that enemy of the city were also plotting their evil plans.

It has always been about religion and tribalism. People kill each other without remorse. Fight could break out anytime and anyone could be killed. Whether you are a visitor or not, no matter your status, those lifeless vampires won’t think twice before squeezing life out of you. Last Saturday was one of those unfortunate days. Fight broke out in one of the town and it rapidly spread throughout the city in no time. Thanks to the swift action from the security men, the damage was limited to the few killed at the onset. A 24 hours’ curfew was declared and every movement arrested until further notice. Oh! How could I go to the bank to resolve my issues now when even the bank won’t be operating?

Monday came and I received a message that my account has been restricted and that I should come to the bank if ever I want it resolved. All seemed like a joke but my debit card was actually blocked. I couldn’t make any purchase with it.

There is this grocery shop within my neighborhood. Even though there was curfew, they still managed to open since the owners live close by and they sell essential stuffs. They only had to keep the sign as “CLOSED” and only those of us who were aware go in. I ran out of cash today and left with no choice. And these people don’t accept any other means of payment. They don’t accept any cryptocurrency; I have even tried to convince the one of the owners once but it didn’t work out. The few shops that do are not opened.

I decided to go try my luck once again and to my amazement, the person I met in there thinking I was about giving a whole lecture to about cryptocurrency and then BCH already had a crypto wallet on her phone. After explaining my predicament to her she decided to allow me pay her with bitcoincash even though the shop doesn’t accept it officially. I asked why they haven’t made it one of their payment method and she told me that she hasn’t been able to convince her partners yet but I could come get whatever I want anytime and pay to her directly with my BCH.

I was very happy that I got my goods and I have now a place where I could quickly go get things and pay with bch even amidst bank frustration and crisis. This is exactly what BCH was made for. To be there for us even in time of distress and offer the best payment experience always. I just wish every single soul would understand this and start using bch. If it was generally accepted throughout the city, I wouldn’t have had business going into the bank. But this wish is fast coming into reality and one day, bch will be at the top of its game.

6
$ 11.18
$ 9.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.50 from @BCHisfuture
+ 2
Sponsors of Gabu
empty
empty
Avatar for Gabu
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Contact me on Reddit BCHisFuture

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep safe sir, from what country are you sir? why there's a chaos. I pray for peacefulness of your city sir, anyway BCH is big help for us, you buy goods and important things using it even though you have no fiat money. I'm hoping that BCH shall be considered as mode of payment soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago