Do you like Street food?

25 45
Avatar for G_lenahhh
2 years ago

[October 30,2021|Saturday]

Every Filipino knows about street food. I've been enjoying street food since I started studying. I always buy street food when our class is over. But I'm curious about why they call them "street foods".

But obviously, the vendors are selling on the side of the street. I think, lol! I'll try to ask my brother why they call them "street foods." His answer might surprise me. He said it is because they sell on the side of the street and the foods they sell are "street foods." That's why they call them "street foods." I almost burst out laughing because of his explanation, but his point was well made, and I really liked his answer.

I think my decision to ask him about the meaning of street foods is wrong. 


Let's start....

1.Isaw

One of the most popular Filipino street foods is the isaw Philippines. It is pork or chicken intestines that are typically barbecued or deep-fried. Don’t worry because the intestines are cleaned thoroughly before grilling it. This is the one of my favorite street food because it's delicious and the price is really cheap.

Fun trivia: Isaw Philippines has been around since the 1970s. When livestock supply was abundant in the 1950s, street food vendors opted to sell more expensive cuts of meat, but when the economic crisis hit the country in the 1970s, the scrap parts of pork and chicken suddenly became valuable and that’s when they started to sell isaw. Street foods in the Philippines articles aren’t complete without isaw.

2.Betamax

Betamax is the blood of pig or chicken that is coagulated and shaped into squares. It resembles the box-type video cassette tape called Betamax, hence the name. Although it’s made with blood, Betamax doesn’t have a foul smell or taste. In fact, it has a mellow to bitter flavor that calls for spicy vinegar on the side.

Every time we have a bonding with my loving cousin, we decide to go to the street food stand to buy Betamax, but I don't like Betamax. That's why I only buy isaw, hatdog, or chicken fit etc.My cousin's is really like Betamax, which is why they always spend too much money buying Betamax.

3.Kikiam

Kikiam is a Filipino street food that was originally taken from Chinese cuisine and authentically consists of minced meat and vegetables. But unlike the Chinese version, the kikiam Philippines contains fish meat instead and a lot of fillers. They are brown and about the size of a finger.

I spend too much money on kikiam. Sometimes I'll buy 20pcs or 30 because it's really delicious and can even be made into a dish.

4.Banana cue

Banana cue is a sweet treat on-the-go made of deep-fried bananas coated in caramelized brown sugar. Like the other famous street food in the Philippines, pork barbecue, the bananas are skewered. An alternative for this is camote cue, which uses sweet potato instead.

I remember when I was in grade 6, I always brought banana cue to our school canteen. Sometimes, when it was recess time, the banana cue was always sold out. Sometimes I argued with my classmates when there was one left. It was funny at the time, because I looked desperate to eat a banana, which is why I always turned to arguing.

5.Turon

Another banana sweet street food is turon which is one of the most famous street foods in Manila. It’s a popular food-on-the-go for Filipinos as this can be easily eaten everywhere. The bananas are cut in half and wrapped in a spring roll wrapper. It’s also deep-fried and coated with caramelized brown sugar.

6.Kwek-Kwek

This famous Filipino street food has quail eggs in it and the brightly-colored orange that covers it is made of batter. Most of its goodness relies on its sauce and street food vendors have their own recipe. The best choice would be vinegar with chilis and garlic.


What is your favorite of those? Leave a comment about what your favorite street food is.


[Notes]

Many many thanks to everyone who always supports me, reads my stories, and thanks for leaving comments on my articles. I'm very happy to find someone who always gives her/his thoughts about my story and shares their own thoughts. Giving comments on my articles makes me very happy. Also, thank you for always upvoting my privilegious articles and my loving sponsorship. Thank you very much. Love lots po:)❤️

12:12pm|Saturday

Like, Comment,&Upvote

-Thank you for reading

9
$ 4.56
$ 4.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 4
Sponsors of G_lenahhh
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for G_lenahhh
2 years ago

Comments

It's the isaw and kwek-kwek for me. Kahit siguro mapadami ako ng kain hahhaah. Indeed, street foods in the Philippines are the best! ❤❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeahhh!! The best po talaga ang street foods sa atin,wlang makakatalo. Mura na masarap pa😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahat gusto ko😁😁 pero ngayon iba na lasa ng kikiam may mga nakikita na ko na kulay dark at maliit na at Hindi na ganun Ang lasa katulad dati. Mas masarap parin Yung kikiam na maglaba🤣😂kwekwek na ko my favorite Lalo na kapag maanghang Ang sauce or kung ang suka ay may pipino.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree po ako dun sa kikiam,minsan may nabibili po ako na iba na ung lasa kaya binabalik ko po sakanila upang palita😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi na siya yummy like nung mahaba. Buti pinalitan nilaa. Mas okay kasi talaga lasa nung original.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko yang Isaw ang sarap niya tapos yung sauce ay matamis na maanghang. Tapos iulam sa kanin :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omyy!! Ganyan din po minsan ginagawa ko,binababad kopo yung isaw sa suka then isasaw ulit sa matamis sabay iulam sa kanin haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do love street foods mostly isaw pero ing mga payat na isaw lnv fhen crispy hehe tapos bananacue so yummy. Thanks sis now i know betamax made from. Never ko din natikman yan pero nakikita ko minsan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayy... You're welcome po,opo minsan lang din po ako tumikhim ng Betamax kasi parang hindi po kaya ng sikmura kung kainin. Pero favorite po yan ng mga pinsan ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Habang binabasa ko to nagutom ako bigla HAHAHA 😂 jusko nakakamiss kumain ng streetfood at dahil dyan! Titignan ko kung may nagtitinda ba sa school HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Legit tawa ko 😂ako nga po napabili ng kwek kwek sa kapitbahay,mapapaaway pa sana ako dahil ang mahal shutakels,ang dala ko pong pera 50 pesos tapos binigay lang saakin 7 pcs an liliit pa,eh mainit na ulo ko kasi nag lalaway naku sa kwek kwek nayan,buti pinaltan ung tinders... Mag kaka world war 3 sana HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe that's cheating dapat naaayon naman sa presyo yung size jusko 🥲

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As far as I can remember, street foods yumg bumuaby sakin nung first and second year college ako until nag lockdown eh hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha,kamiss po talaga yung face to face ano? Yung tipong excited kanang umuwi kasi may street foods kang madadaanan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My favorite among the list is kwek kwek, and I remember the time when we are having a party and street foods are our main theme. I also like fiish ball hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my goodness!It looks good. I'm sure you'll have fun. Thank you for giving me an idea. Now I know what kind of theme I will use for my upcoming birthday. Simple birthday celebrations  HAHA

Thanks for reading & Upvoting 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All of the above, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Arat na po at kumain ng Street foods! Thanks for reading & Upvoting 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

otw na, sis! walang anuman!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Ang sarap pinaka fav ko talaga yung isaw. Sobrang sarap talaga para sakin. I love the taste. I missed already eating street foods.

Nakatikim na din ako ng betamax. Masarap din siya with rice tapos my sawsawan. Yung kwek-kwek din sobrang adik ko din.☺️ Ang sarap, nagutom tuloy ako ulit.☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha,oo nga po eh nakakamiss po talaga ngayon kumain ng street foods, pandemic po kasi kaya minsan nalang mag tinda yung mga vendor:) thanks for reading po😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo Langga..nakakamiss talaga, delikado kasi ngayon kaya medyo kunti nalang yung mga street vendors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagugutom ako, 😅! Sarap niyan lahat lalo na pag may maanghang na sawsawan. Yung beta max , ang binalik-balikan ko noon. Tapos yang isaw, makaubos ako ng marami niyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha same po tayo,isaw din po ang gusto ko pero nung sumakit po yung tyan ko siguro naparami rin po ng kain,umiwas po muna ako lumipat naman po ako sa chicken fit o kaya kwek-kwek 😂 thanks for reading & Upvoting 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayay, isa yan sa favorite ko ang chicken feet. Sarap talaga niyan...You're welcome 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago