Be a woman with high standards

0 31
Avatar for G_lenahhh
2 years ago
Topics: Woman, Happy, Self, Writing

[October 4,2021|Monday] [3:20pm]

Lead image from un plush

"Ba't 'di mo sinagot si Adrian? Ang pogi kaya no'n!"

My best friend in College blurted out.

A cruel smirk crept unto my lips upon hearing my best friend's words and later, I let out a soft chuckle.

"Well, I told him to wait for three years, but he refused to. Nakakatawa lang na sumuko siya agad without knowing that I just tested how depth his love for me. You know, men are hunters by nature and go hard for what they want. If he's not going hard for you, you are not what he wants," I smiled mischievously. "And Adrian missed that point. Hindi pa siya nakakaakyat sa pader na binuo ko, nahulog na agad siya."

Kareena just nodded her head and remained in silence while digesting what I just said earlier.

"You are really building your walls too high, Missy," she commented.

"Bakit hindi? Small things cannot get me because I, myself always do big things." I smirked as I sipped my favorite chocolate matcha green tea.

I heard her taking a sharp breathe as she spoke again. "Sa sobrang picky mo, hindi ka na makakapag-asawa niyan."

Upon hearing her remarks, something inside me had snapped. I stared at her intently and smiled widely, enough to annoy her.

"It's better to be single with high standards than in a relationship while settling for less, Kareena," I boldy spatted. "I'm not afraid to be single forever. I know what I bring to the table, so trust me when I say I'm not afraid eating alone."

With that statement, I gracefully turned my back, leaving her speechless.

"God, Missy! Really? You dumped the man named Nero fucking Lauren? The one of the most well-known business tycoon here in the Philippines? You must be kidding, right?" Kareena squealed as soon as she entered the room.

Here we go again...

I heaved a deep sigh and stared at her boredly.

"Yeah, he's filthy rich, I must admit that. But he's a playboy, Kareena. While courting me, I found out that he's making out with someone else. And I'm not a freaking back up plan and definitely not a second choice!" I exclaimed, losing my poise and composure.

"Why does it easy for you to detach yourself from people, Missy? You are really heartless," she commented.

"I don't detach, Kareena. I delete them. And that's not being heartless, I just know my worth and I will never stick myself with a cheater! That would be so low of me," I uttered.

God, if only Kareena's not my bestfriend, I would definitely not entertain her. Aside from she's annoying at times, she also speaks nonsense and no substance.

After three years, my bestfriend and I met again in a mall. She is now a fashion model while I am a lawyer.

"Mukhang stress na stress ka sa pagiging abogada mo, besh. Okay lang naman sa akin na hindi ka mag-ayos pero girl, baka dito mo na mahanap ang destiny mo sa mall," Kareena said loudly while cracking in fits of laughter.

After all these years, Kareena is still the same.

"I know I look like a crap today, Kareena. Hindi ako nagsuklay at hindi rin ako pumorma. And not to mention na hindi rin ako nag toothbrush," I couldn't help myself but to laugh harder.

Natawa na rin si Kareena sa sinabi ko.

"By the way, tama ba 'yong balita ko na may boyfriend ka na? May car ba siya, bes? Maraming pera? Pogi? May abs?" Kareena asked like a damn slut.

Mahina lang akong natawa.

"No, he's not that wealthy, and not that handsome, either. Sakto lang," I said plainly.

"So, binabaan mo na ang standard mo sa lalake?" she asked while chuckling.

I was about to answer her question when a guy caught Kareena's attention.

"Bes, look oh! Tinutulungan no'ng lalaki 'yong matandang babae para makatawid sa kalsada," Kareena beamed and her eyes sparkled.

I stared at the guy and my heart warmed at his manly gesture.

Sinundan lang namin siya ng tingin ng bestfriend ko at halos kurutin na ako ni Kareena sa sobrang kilig.

"God, kung wala lang akong jowa, lalandiin ko 'yong lalake. Damn, ang sweet niya!" litanya ni Kareena habang panay hampas sa balikat ko.

Mas lalo pang lumakas ang paghampas ni Kareena sa balikat ko nang lumapit sa amin ang lalake.

"I'm so sorry for waiting that long, love. May tinulungan lang akong makatawid ng kalsada," the guy said gently at me.

Kareena got stunned when the guy kissed my lips and snaked his hands around my tiny waist.

"Oh..." Agad akong napangiti. "Love, si Kareena pala, bestfriend ko."

Kareena shyly smiled at my boyfriend as she extended her hand for a shake.

"Kareena, si Troy, boyfriend ko."

They shook their hands as they exchanged pleasantries with each other.

Kareena remained silent all throught the dinner and she went crazy when my boyfriend excused himself to go to the comfort room.

Mabilis niya akong hinampas at kinurot dahil sa labis na kilig.

"Gaga ka, ba't di mo sinabi na boyfriend mo pala 'yan! Hinalikan ka pa niya sa lips na wala kang toothbrush at 'di nakapag-ayos, lukaret ka!" she exclaimed.

Natawa na lang ako.

"There's no reason for me to still fix myself whenever my boyfriend is around because he had already seen and love my messy parts, Kareena. He already fell in love with my hard edges, grumpy moods, my toxic traits and my deepest insecurities. He may not be the richest among all the men who courted me from the past, but he's rich with values and respect."

I smiled proudly at her and I couldn't help but to tear up silently.

"And to answer your question if binabaan ko na ba ang standard ko?" I brushed my tears away as I continued. "No, I didn't lower my standard, Kareena. I am still the woman you knew who always sets her bar too high. I am still the queen you knew in College."

My tears kept on running down my cheeks but I still smiled at her.

"And yes, Troy didn't meet my standard because guess what? He surpassed it!" I uttered proudly.

Hindi ko na napigilan ang sarili kong mapaluha.

"Did you witness how he gently helped the old woman to walk across the street? He's also like that to his mother and his little sisters, Kareena. And that stood him out among the other men I knew. I keep my walls too high but a man who has respect with his mother or sisters will always be enough for me," I cried silently.

When my boyfriend finally got back, I immediately hugged him tightly and showered him some kisses.

I stared at Kareena who's also now crying because of too much happiness.

And for the last time, I smiled widely and held my chin high.

"We are queens and born to be expensive, Kareena. And only men who knows how to value a woman's heart could afford us."

-Thanks for reading

[4:13pm]╰(^3^)╯

________________________

Many thanks to everyone who supports and reads my published articles! I really appreciate it, especially the one who always co -commented and upvoted my privious articles, and thank you to my sponsors here at read cash❤️ thank you very much po! sending virtual hugs🥰love lots ☺️

3
$ 0.64
$ 0.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of G_lenahhh
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for G_lenahhh
2 years ago
Topics: Woman, Happy, Self, Writing

Comments