I left my heart in San Francisco

8 20

After graduation in 2019, I went on a trip to Mindanao with my family. We're having a family reunion after 5 years of not seeing each other. Both of my parents are from Mindanao. My mom's from Butuan City and my dad is from Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur. If you wanna know why we are in the Visayas, well, that's another story to tell. The reunion that we're to attend is on father's side. During that time I had a secret boyfriend, my long-time crush 😁 I did not tell them yet because I know how over-acting my parents are.

Being in a long-distance relationship with my boyfriend is so discouraging. We just started our relationship, I was like having separation anxiety. I'm not doubting him it's just that I don't trust the girls in his workplace. He is so charming and handsome so there'll be no reason that girls will not surround him.

In the first week of our stay at my Lolo's house, I'm already missing him. Our conversation gets colder and colder until I received the most painful messages my eyes had ever read while the band December Avenue is playing the song 'Kung Di rin lang Ikaw' in a town fair. My cousins are singing their hearts out with the band while I was silently crying. It's unfair for me because I was not able to decide whether I want to break up with him or not. It was like an ultimatum given to me and only allowed me to say yes or having no choice at all.

It's been 2 weeks and after the breakup, I haven't heard anything about him. I did not ask our common friends about his whereabouts because I don't want them to get to the issue that we dated for only 26 days. It's like the free trial has ended after being tested. I still missed him but I'm trying to forget him by distracting myself and enjoying my vacation with my cousins. I just wished I could get a chance to talk to him or for closure when I get back.

On the third week, we all went to a beach famous there in San Francisco, a nearby town of Prosperidad. This outing was intended only for the youngsters, so our parents were left in the house having the time of their lives. I thought only my cousins will go there but they invited some of their friends. I think 10 people added in going with us. To my surprise, those people are friends with my cousins too. We were introduced to each other and I became so awkward. I had a cousin who's shipping me to one of their friends named Nico. I'll just laugh along with them but the way I see it, Nico is kinda cute, and charming. Every time I look at him I feel like I'm cheating on my ex-boyfriend.

The plan is to stay there for 2 days and 1 night but they planned on extending 1 day. Luckily our parents agreed. We all enjoyed the beach. I got friends with Nico since every time we played games, they pair me up with him. Nico asked for my number and added me on Facebook. I was hesitant at first but I was thinking maybe this could be right so I could move on. On our last night of stay at the beach, we gathered around a campfire. We were like having a school activity haha. We were paired up by picking up a small rolled paper with numbers in it. Those who got the same number are pairs. I don't know if it's destiny but we are 20 and he's got the same number as mine. So the task is to share something with your partner. The moment they knew that my partner is Nico, they teased us again. I just ignored them. Nico and I went near the beach and we sat down approximately 5 inches apart.

He was the first to tell his story. From what I understood, he also experienced a great heartbreak. He was in a relationship with the girl and she cheated on him to someone she met online. He said he got busy on his apprenticeship that's why it happened. Five months ago since their break up. I asked him of giving the girl a second chance. I was shocked when he told me that the girl was already pregnant with their first child. I felt all his pain. It's like they wasted the years they spent together. When it was already my turn, I was hesitating to tell him my breakup story. I was thinking it's not comparable to what he had experienced. But, still, whatever form it is, it's a heartbreak. So I told him mine. He felt sorry for me too. For 11 years of having a crush on my ex, is also a waste of time. He said, how could someone convert 11 years to 26 days? He's right. Those people who hurt us are not worthy of our tears. He held my hand and he said, we can do this. I find him awesome and amazing. That night I decided to forget my ex, move on and continue living my life freely. The night ended with all the cries and woos of my cousins as we shared again around the campfire. It's a great night with the good people.

We went up to our cottages, one cottage for the girls and one for the boys. While others are soundly asleep, I'm still wide awake because Nico is chatting with me. I'm not that person who falls easily. But I know where this will lead us to. We're just talking about random things. We did not sleep until 2 am.

The morning came and we prepared our things in going home. I'm gonna miss this beautiful place. When we were all ready, we gathered in the front of the cottage we rented in and we took pictures. After the group picture, Nico went to me and snapped us a picture. I just smiled at him. I couldn't forget the words he said to me, he said, "when we're ready let's go back here and pick up our hearts here. I promise to court you and you will say yes." Every time his words crossed my mind, I couldn't help but smile.

That was the last day I felt butterflies in my stomach. The last time I checked on him on Facebook was like 2 months ago and he's already in a relationship. That hurt my pride. I think I'm gonna pick up my heart alone to where I left it. Promises? Nah... they're just lies that are beautifully said.

4
$ 0.14
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Ehhhhhhhh, so sya din nag break sa promise nya anak mg pitomput pitong baka sya 🙄🙄. Pptffft!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha dami ko nang kakampi 🤣 salamat talaga 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kala ko happy ending Ate. Hindi pa po pala. Ang ganda po ng istorya niyo, para po na nababasa ko sa movie haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know right. My life is indeed like a movie. Thanks for reading :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinagtagpo po ngunit di itinadhana

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouchies .. pero feeling naku Kay you will meet someone there niel nga mo pick nasab sa iyaha heart. Ayieee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha Ameeen 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago