Power Outage

16 26
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

We don't always appreciate what we have until we lose it, and I believe that losing it will make us comprehend it much more. This phrase encapsulates what is currently going on in the hostel where I am staying during my academic days. Before the school decided to go on an asuu strike, the power here was very stable, and we couldn't go a day without having light for at least 10 hours, and we tend to complain when they only took the light for a few hours but currently we pray and beg for them to give us power for just an hour.

When there is no electric power, the generator is usually turned on around 8 p.m. until 1 a.m., but they had to limit it because we always have light, and we didn't complain because the light was stable and reliable at the time. The use of our mobile gadgets increased then and this really affected our sleeping routine but we try to get up early since we have to be in classes early.

Since the ASUU ( Academic Staff Union of Universities) strike began, it appears that electric power has also fallen out, and owing to our country's economic situation, the price of everything has continued to rise, including the price of fuel and diesel, which has drastically changed everything in the dormitory. at first we thought it would end soon but it's over 2 months now and everything still remains the same.

They now turn on the generator about 10 p.m. and turn it off at 12 a.m., which is extremely inconvenient, and the fact that we have no control over it is even more disheartening because the price of diesel has affected how they turn on the generator. We were initially fine with turning on the generator from 10 p.m. to 12 a.m. since as soon as they turned it off, they would almost certainly bring the light back on within 10 minutes, and the PHCN ( Power Holding Company of Nigeria) would consider leaving the light on till the next morning.

Recently, we haven't use electric power for more than 4 hours in a 24 hour period, and even when we do manage to use power during the day, it only lasts for five minutes, resulting in a decrease in the use of our electronic gadgets and some other devices that needs electric power to function. As a result, I was unable to complete my school assignment, which had been handed to us prior to the start of the Asuu break, and I attempted to visit a library near the school to finish up, but they were all closed because all of the students had gone home.

We sleep in the dark most of the time, and the temperature is extremely high right now, not to mention mosquitoes, so we can't sleep early, and if we do, we'll have to wake up very late, and before we know it, the day is almost over and it's really frustrating and It's quite aggravating, and the hostel administration is doing nothing to help, which is one of the main reasons I'm leaving this week because I'm tired of the hostel entirely.

This is just me attempting to escape the harsh reality of my hostel, but it will be over by Sunday. When my laptop is charged, I primarily pass the time by listening to music and watching videos on it, and occasionally I read novels. However, I am not a fan of novels, but due to a power outage, I imposed it on myself, and when everything isn't working, I just try to cruise inside school and occasionally catch up with my pals who live nearby.

Thank you for reading πŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’š

Sorry for disturbing with what I'm facing......

Kindly check out my awesome sponsors

Sponsors of Freedom007
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 2.15
$ 2.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jerrysavage00
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 3
Sponsors of Freedom007
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

Comments

That is such an unfortunate event sir. We really have to make use of time and opportunity to do the things that we ought to do.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right but when there is no electricity it becomes harder to achieve anything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All on God, this county don turn into something else, na only God for help like this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the only way because we can not even help ourselves in this situation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can totally understand how you feel. I was in this position last week. It was so bad I didn't interact here and that seem to have slowed down my earning real bad . I'm not trying to get my account back to normal

$ 0.01
2 years ago

At least I still interact over here but it's just frustrating at this time we are still struggling with electricity while other countries are doing something better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything seem to be going wrong for this country at the same time. Even in my house, I have not had light for about 36hours now. That's very very unusual

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's really traumatizing a whole 36 hours that's too long, I hope something is done soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorray Sorray don’t cry

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I go report you to your ...... Better be careful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To my who ??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. The prices of all commodities are rising which is making it difficult for the people of our country to buy.

There has been no electricity for some time. The power goes out again after two hours in the evening. Due to this we do not sleep at night. We are suffering from an unbearable situation.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope we get through this one day because it's really unbearable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May Allah accept this prayer of yours, Ameen.

We will be able to live a much better life if we get rid of this unbearable situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sheybe they send you comot for house, na now your brain dey tell you make u go homeπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…, wait small na, mallam

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wetin be your own again πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ make I no catch u sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago