Stars in our scars

0 8
Avatar for Flyingcolors
3 years ago

I have been dreaming of a hand to hold, a pair of eyes that sees my worth, a shoulder to lean on, a safe place and warmth to cover me up when it's cold. Staying in the dark makes me feel numb and lifeless, and only the hope of finding the right one makes me alive.

And I've never thought that dreams do come true; until you came, until you became my dream—until you told me that the stars still twinkle every time I smile. Beauty is sometimes wrapped in chaos, you said, and you never loved broken things until you saw me.

It felt like my soul came to life again. On my sleepless nights, you wrapped your arms around me as if you're telling me that I am safe by your side, that you'll never leave, that you'll stay until the sunrise and rainbows show again, that you'll hold my hand forever. When stars fade into the night, you always tell me that I, myself, shine. When it rains, you became the warmth that I have been longing for. Your voice is the lullaby that I have been needing to hear. And the sound of my heart beating for you is the most beautiful music.

Nothing ever mattered to me more than you, and your love made me realize that, wherever I go, a home is waiting for me. You are the dream that came true, and I know you are the one—because the moment you held my hand, kissed all my flaws, and embraced every little thing that makes me doubt my self-worth, was the moment I knew you are the one that I have been dreaming of.

—Redwin Dob (The Stars In Our Scars)

I was never a lover of broken things. For how can a broken being ever love someone as broken as her? But with you, it was different.

I love you because I know you are worth it. I know there are stars beneath your scars, there are stories behind your bruises and there is so much love within your pain. You are the risk that I am more than willing to take with all the broken pieces, with all my fears, with all the storms that I have survived and we will brave through together. I will love you with all that I am and all that I am not. I will love you for who you are and who you cannot be.

You are not easy to love, but so am I; and so is everyone who are worth it. So, please do not push me away when the world becomes too heavy for when I loved you, I did not fall just for your beautiful parts. I saw all your broken pieces, yet I held your hand even tighter and patched the cracks with all the remaining parts of me. I signed up to be with you in your sunny days casting shade unto the uncomfortable parts, and I promise not to leave you in your rainy days where the coldness consumes your faint warmth. Please just let me.

Because you made me the happiest with just you trying to heal so you can love me better. I saw you trying to turn your scars into the brightest stars for me. I saw you trying to give a chance to this chaotic world because I am in it. I saw you loving me when you cannot even love yourself. And if that is not love, I no longer know what is. You may not be the prince that I have been waiting for, but you are the reality that I never want to lose.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Flyingcolors
3 years ago

Comments