My sick Auntie celebrating her 49th birthday

0 25
Avatar for FiveFootEight
2 years ago

Hi there I'm really sorry I wasn't around yesterday I'm busy, stay here and I'll tell you what happened.

My bed ridden Auntie

So yesterday was a very busy day because its my Aunt's 49th birthday. It was a day full of mixed emotions. It's been years I haven't seen or visited my Aunt since the pandemic hit the Philippines. My Aunt's name is Lina, she's a former OFW from Singapore. She stopped working because she is sick. I am guessing she has breast tumor. Years and years have gone by her condition is getting worse.

She's thin like me. I don't know what and why she had that sickness but I can't judge her we're only human prone to sickness. She's separated with her husband from Isabela province. Her children, my three cousins were also away living in Isabela I have not been eager to know there whereabouts since they left their mother. I can't blame them they also wanted to live a happy life. Maybe the reason why her illness got worse because of the stress she is having, the fact that she is a single parent and now her daughters chosen to live far. First time I approached her for several years I've not gone out of the house, I saw her teary eyed saying I should be stronger and braver than her. I feel sorry for her because she really need medication and physical therapist because she can't stand and walk now. From chest problem, now she has an infection on her behind from rashes of constant use of adult diapers. Suddenly I recalled and said i should have pursued nursing because no one among our family chose to study medicine. My prayers will always include her. I remember recently I've had a dream that I was passing by and I saw her standing. No matter what happens I will let my love warm her by always checking her condition and visiting her also praying for her betterment. She's suffering so much pain now if you see her she's thin like those inspiring stories featured in Kapuso Mo Jessica Soho.

My Aunt, my sister in pink and my relative in blue

I haven't had an opportunity to take photos as I was in the kitchen tasked to help because we have limited helpers in preparing food. I was tasked in grating the coconut for the desserts like biko and latik used as sauce for suman. That was such a sweaty task. Thankfully I made it without having issues with my health. I remember also that day I was not supposed to attend as i was taking sleeping pills eight in the morning i feel numb i was laying and watching videos on YouTube then suddenly came my sister saying I should join my uncle he is en route via his dependable boat because we can walk or cross the river with a wooden boat. That was my second time I'm afraid of drowning because I can't swim so I was praying while on a going down to sit in the boat. Thankfully yesterday was a sunny day so the river is calm and we paddled our way to purok 3 past the bridge. A sigh of relief!

One thing I was touched is she had not just one but five birthday cakes. Plus she also had received a bouquet of flowers with a folding chair those for elderly. Although our family is not complete at least we are there present for the monumental event hoping it won't be the last. And we ended that day by walking home we were like a platoon we walked the muddy path with our phones flashlight, half the road is cement while the half is mud. Thank God we arrived purok 1 safely. I sit and talked with my relatives for a while to cool down and in few minutes I arrived home to half bath as i was smelly and sweaty whole day. Then I ate and took my eight pm sleeping pills that aren't working as I am still having bad sleep. I learned there were so many birthday celebrants like my Aunt. And I was happy feeling I am not bored anymore.

Hopefully i get to tell you more of my life experiences. What else you want to know just comment down. I just got back here in read.cash from months if hiatus so please don't hesitate to get to know me or inform me of anything under the sun. Wait before I end my article please pray for my Aunt and My health that we become stronger each day and that God give us healing!

To God be the glory.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for FiveFootEight
2 years ago

Comments