Fallen Angel

4 39
Avatar for Firenze
3 years ago

Suicide cases rising and it's very alarming that the tendencies to commit suicide are very prominent among teenagers these days. There's an incident before this pandemic happened, a grade-12 student committed suicide last Feb. 21, by jumping from the roof of Malabon City Hall. According to the report, authorities have yet to identify the reason why the minor took his own life. I found out about it when I saw a post on FB and he didn't share the video because it's terrible to watch. So I decided also not to search. I don't want to see how that student died but after 2 days I saw the video because my cousin shared it on her FB account ;( And it's so upsetting that other people make fun of him by editing the video and making memes.

Why they have to do that? It saddens me to know that another soul didn't survive the whispers. He didn't survive those voices that pushed him to end his life. He gave up easily. Another suicide incident, a 14 yr old girl from Santa Rosa Laguna ends her life (I'm not sure if December last year ). She hangs herself in her room. I watched a documentary about depression and the Psychiatrist said that most teenagers that have mental illness think that they're a burden to their family, they're worthless, they're hopeless, and just want to end their life because they think it's the answer.

Some people say it's selfish. That those teenagers just want attention. The doctor said that it's a symptom, beyond their control. In my opinion. I think social media is really one of the reasons for this. We live in a world of expectations. We're expected to be happy, to have a perfect life, to have a curated Instagram/social feeds. You're expecting so much that you're losing yourself in the "real world". Some of them also post their feelings on Facebook, but other people make fun of them. Saying "too much drama". Sometimes we need to read between the lines.


If you can, listen to them, who knows by just listening and making them feel that they're not alone, you can save a soul. The doctor said that we, adults should avoid
commenting negatively, like "you're weak inside". Keep an open mind that we can't understand everything. At the end of the day, whether mentally ill or not, all of us
want love, support, and affirmation. Many students struggle with mental illness. Often, they can come as unknown desperate cries for help.

I'm sensitive when it comes to anxiety and depression because I had depression two years ago. I'm sick and tired of living. I prayed not to wake up, to sleep forever, and leave this cruel world. But yeah, I'm still alive and trying my very best to beat anxiety though it's not easy as other people think.


10
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Firenze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Firenze
3 years ago

Comments

Prayer is the best answer. Talk to God as He always listen. I just wish that there are more people who can give this kind to advice to the young. They are the most vulnerable to this kind of thing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes ate. Some teenagers suffer because most of them want to be heard, but no one tries to listen. I still suffer from time to time that's why I always read verses at night. Maybe I just need to talk to Him more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was a suicidal before.. tried to commit suicide at the age of 9 I think.. the last time I tried to kill myself was when I was in my early 20s.. I was closed to stab myself with the knife I had in my hand.. but I know God won't forgive me, so I didn't do it.. God is the only reason why I'm still alive..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm so glad that the evils whisper didn't win. God is enough reason sis. Let's keep on fighting and holding onto Him, though sometimes reality and this world really svcks. I'm so proud of us for being alive 💪 Cheers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago