Exceptions To Life

0 27
Avatar for Financeguy
2 years ago

Life can be truly funny sometimes. They say if you fail to plan ,you will plan to fail,but these wise words almost had an exception in my Case. This is because after thorough planing and preparations, I was almost at the grisp of failure before success came through. Can you now see the reason I said Life was truly funny? . Allow me take you through the journey .

In my previous post, I said I was at the professional stage (Final level) in one of my professional courses ,The Institute Of Chartered Accountant Of Nigeria (ICAN),but there is a story behind me getting to that level. The level before the professional level is the skills level,this is the level where my orientation about life got disrupted because I experienced life different tly

We were to write the exam in the Month of May,So preparations has started right from the day the previous exam result was released , which was in December.This was just to align with the adage that says "The way you lay your bed, that's how you will lie on it". So we were actually trying to lay our bed right by making early preparations for the upcoming exam. I was actually running the normal school program and ICAN together.So what I basically do is to go for my normal school lectures during the weekdays and attend ICAN lectures weekends. Although it was stressful,but the distance was easier for me as the lecture center for the ICAN tutorials was not far to my hostel in school. Realizing school wasn't in session was very tedious as I would have to go from my home in Ogun State to my ICAN tutorial center in Lagos state every weekends .This was very stressful for me and also costly considering the transportation cost involved every weekends and also accomodation cost because I had to rent a short rest apartment in my school area just for the weekends so as to have somewhere to rest after the tedious lectures from 8:00am to 8:00pm.

Despite the hurdles I was passing through,I still pressed further because I knew the road to success isnt smooth and I have to pay to price to collect the prize. I did this routine from December which I started the lectures till May which was the exam month.At a point in March ,I had to start sleeping in my lecture center (in the class) inorder to reduce the cost of transportation and also cost of accomodation. It also made me start reading throughout the night as I wasn't comfortable sleeping on chairs and table ,so I directed the energy to read overnight.

ICAN exam happens to be one of the toughest exams in Nigeria.So considering this fact ,I'm sure you can relate to the kind of price I had to pay.So it was a week to the exam,which was generally time for revision .An unforeseen circumstance came up .I fell Sick!!.

The sickness was very serious as I couldn't eat and wasn't even able to read a thing despite all my effort towards it. After several test,it was discovered I had malaria and typhoid .WHAT!!!. MALARIA AND TYPHOID a week to exam ?,after all the struggles, preparations and reading for months.

I was so distabilized and sad because my mummy asked me not to write the exam as I was medically unfit for it. To cut the long story short .I had to force myself to the exam hall to write it because I had this mindset that God can't put me to Shame because I have done all the best I could do in preparing for the exams. The exam sincerely wasn't even funny at all as I had to use my residual knowledge to answer most of the questions and not the knowledge in the text book I had read from.

Results came out and there was general failure in that exam in the whole country. Knowing this fact I had the mindset that I had failed even before checking it because like I said earlier I wrote based on my residual and general knowledge which I felt wasn't good enough to make me pass the exam.

When I checked my results I couldn't believe my eyes. I PASSED!!. I couldn't describe my feelings. Let's just say I was filled with joy.

This made me realize that life is indeed funny.Who would have thought I would pass? Even I , didn't think I would pass. Most of my friends that we prepared together, even those I personally knew were more serious than me failed.

Can you now see why I said unforeseen circumstances can change the wise words being said just like the plan to fail adage.If I had failed, then the adage Is being compromised,I know you will say I later passed so it's still standing but everyone can't be lucky like me.

5
$ 0.07
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.02 from @Gaftek
Avatar for Financeguy
2 years ago

Comments