What's this sponsorship madness at read.cash.

16 114
Avatar for Fexonice1
3 years ago

Each day as I visit my favorite community, which happens to be Read.cash community, all I see is post or articles about sponsoring people or looking for sponsor. This makes me feel bored and thinks whether people nolonger have anything to write about to earn points than begging for sponsorship. Even read.cash home page is all filled with same articles of giving sponsorship and asking for sponsorship articles. This to me doesn't seem right, and is downgrading read.cash platform.

Come to think of it, why are people going head and foot begging for sponsorship? Who does sponsorship actually benefits, and what do you get for being sponsored?

Most new users who doesn't really knows anything about how sponsorship works, are the majority posting articles about being sponsored everywhere here. And our older users are using it as bait to get more subscribers, and possibly more upvote on their articles. Though this may be a smart idea, but what benefits does it give to those who got sponsored.

Most new users thinks that getting sponsored have much financial reward. People have even created a community for this, and new users are going in there begging to be sponsored. But my question is this, who actually benefits most from this thing.

Now this is what they do, they ask people to subscribe to them without subscribing back. In this way they get more views and engagement on their articles, but they will never comment on your article. Also you are asked to share their link to give them more exposure. But how much do you actually get for doing this to get sponsored.

The highest I have seen is $0.o3, except anyone here has seen something greater than that. And that's for a month. Tell me, is this what someone should be going mad about. I prefer someone tipping my work regularly than giving me a sponsorship of $0.03 a month. I have about four sponsors on my sponsor block. I never beg anyone to sponsor me, they saw my articles and send a sponsorship request to me. I have rejected sponsorship request that I don't like, at least you need to be in charge.

However, I think the whole concept of sponsorship is getting abused at the moment. And could lead to something else. I believe a person's work should be what brings him or her sponsorship and not the begging and baited manner it's been done now.

14
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.01 from @CryptoSmart
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
3 years ago

Comments

However, I think the whole concept of sponsorship is getting abused at the moment

I don't see it that way. Let people sponsor for $0.01 What's the big deal? And there's nothing wrong with asking. Over time, a real sponsorship market will emerge. If someone will sponsor a good and widely read author, he will have to pay more. Sponsoring an insignificant author will cost little. I don't see a problem with that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course I agree with your point that an insignificant author will cost little while a significant one costs more but do you think letting people do that will be a good option?

Although, it is nothing to talk about but there should be a situation where this should be stopped or managed. I know I did some in the past in a different way but do you think the sponsors doing that look at the work of the people before sponsoring them??No, and even if they do a small percentage does that this will go a long to let everyone start doing it remember, when I started it wasn't bad but when others held it became a spam. Thank you..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I said it's been abused in the sense that every new users now think that is the way to get subscribers without writing anything meaningful for people to read. The concept of sponsorship to me was to enhance productivity and quality, but with the way they are doing it now, it's nolonger about the work of an author. Isn't that an abused.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you this time. What's going on is an a abuse and it should be stopped. This is not what sponsorship should be, just that people have discovered a new way to abuse the system.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Should I answer this? No, I think you already know my opinion.

Once was said paying followers is not okay, I answered it's not different from the sponsorship for 0.01 a year.

To me, sponsorship means something else (I wrote about it). I prefer to sponsor something good, someone, or a product (read: article) I believe in. If possible I do so for more than 0.01 since I doubt it benefits the writer.

So far I sponsored one person for one month for a few dollars.

If this all will lead to real sponsorship I don't know. I have strong doubts it will attract real companies but only the future can tell.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The same thought were occuring in my mind..why is this going on..is this one called generosity or just a plain motive to gain viewers, likes, comments, subscription for the future article and in return earn from that articles post..i don't understand it at all actually..Initialy i thought to get sponsor require hard work and quality authorship..but it's very easy now to getting sponsorship..

I had commented in one article don't consider 'marketed sponsorship' but do prefer genuine sponsor. Afterall if one want to be a good author, must consider oneself valuable..that will actually motivate one to write good quality content and will expect genuine sponsorship.. and the term 'Sponsorship' itself will bring more valuation..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your meaningful response to this matter. We cannot tell what this may lead to, but all I can say now is that it is a downgrade on read.cash platform.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All i can say its not downgraded yet but 'trending' one at cheap rate without checking the credibility....

if they come up with rules like do's and dont's while creating 'Personal Contest' and 'Personal Sponsorship', it would be still feasible and work well considering some users have earn money here and wants to give back it to others..

Why rules because if one user is doing some strategy to get traction for attention others would also to start follow with the same or new stategy..ultimately spaming started..

So it would be better if some format or rules is there for Creating Personal Contest, Personal Sponsorship or any other personal thing as users want...well it's my opinion only i am not intending it to anyone so correct me if i am wrong..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are not wrong, it makes sense to impose a rules guiding this kind of thing because if not check mate it can lead to something else. The problem with this is that new users now think that is the quickest way to get subscribers, which I think is undermining the concept of sponsorship.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. That's why I stopped participating in sponsorship ideas. I only tried at first to see what happens but then it mostly benefited the sponsors in the end and not the person receiving the sponsorship. I mean, it's nice that you know someone supports your contents as a whole and not just a single one but then shouldn't they do that of their own accord and not because someone applies for it? This is definitely the new kind of spam that's going about. I mean, introductions are understandable and all if you're new but then a reintroduction with the intent to get sponsored is something else.. if the need to get more views is there then you can always make use of your social media accounts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with your points and I must say this attitude is becoming the new way of accumulating more subscribers. People are now doing that to get subscribers who will in turn help them to accumulate more points which is a thousand times better than the one they paid them.

Some sponsors know what they want therefore they don't care how much they lose and even they don't look at the work of the person first. They just want to drive traffic to themselves and in return earn more. I thought sponsorship was when you like the person's work but not knowing it can now be turned to something else and and with the sponsorship community I don't know but I can say it looks more unless like an upvote circle. How can you say based on my activities in the group you will sponsor me. Meaning the more I like , comment and help the admin and other people to earn there that you will sponsor me and I even think the amount for sponsorship is $0.01

Good points raised I think this should be curbed soon and I think I also prefer an upvote to a sponsorship.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your critical analysis on the article, and you even went ahead to reveal the activities of the sponsor Community which I have not looked into properly. Any new user now throw up sponsorship contest all to gain subscribers without even writing anything meaningful for people to read. Where this will get us to is that there will be poor and low articles everywhere here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The meaningful content dropped indeed but I hope this is just temporary. We had the "I earned and read.cash isn't a scam period", the " I earned X points", period, the "where is my money" messages, followed by the "why do I not earn points" notes and articles... The good thing is we have the short notes now. Not many articles are written about it. Not many real articles are written lately anyway. There are so many topics to write about. Pity of the platform. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@wakeupkitty I hear your voice, you are one author that I have seen working with a strong principle based on excellent. Many won't see this issue as something downgrading on read.cash.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not different from paying followers so I wonder why this is permitted. Sponsorship should bring the sponsored one something in the first place.

$ 0.00
3 years ago