The benefits of working from home during a lockdown

10 75
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

The year 2020 has brought about a change in the world's operating system as millions of people have been forced to stay at home to prevent the spread of coronavirus. For some people, the lockdown was like a punishment meted out to citizens by the government, because it prevented them from doing their normal business as usual. It was also difficult to tolerate because the business owners did not have the means to run their businesses and therefore suffered some degree of financial loss. However, established companies and partnerships with many employees have used the internet and introduced a system that allows their employees to work from home.

Although not everyone works in a company or in a partnership, a number of people around the world are able to use the Internet and find work at home. Extended lockdown make working from home the idea of ​​saving many jobs from dieing and continuing help people earn a living. The fact is that even with the relapsed of lockdown in some areas, many people have refused to return to their former businesses because they have found work to do at home that is more rewarding than what they were doing before the lockdown.

When the global lockdown started, most people find it nice to be home with their families and work from home. But as time goes by, boredom begun, and you find it difficult to work from home. We want to meet with our partners again, we want to socialize again. Dads are tired of having kids playing around while working on a laptop, and moms are tired of yelling at kids over and over again. And, therefore, they want to return to the office.

But since we know that there are two sides to a coin, working from home is quite good in some ways. From what I have experienced since I started working at home, and from what I have seen in general, I can point out certain benefits or advantages of working from home.

Working from home helps save money

This is one of the benefits of homework that should be visible to anyone. We know that the price of petrol and diesel is skyrocketing in many countries. In Nigeria, our country, a liter of gasoline is worth more than $4 and may be more than that in other countries. Now, because of the lockdown, we can now save money on gasoline and diesel and a few other things that we don't need while working at home. According to research, due to lockdown, people can save up to $4,000 a year. Electricity, car storage, parking fees, Lunches, Cab, Metro and other things you spend on savings. It also saves money on clothes, suits, and other items, as well as other cleaning costs. But in your home, you do not have to look for these things. Personally, I have saved up the $158 I would have spent on fueling my car and for lunch in the three months I have been working from home.

Also, if you go to your office, you will need some precautionary measures. You will always need to wash your hand and when you return to your house your car needs to be cleaned, so with your clothes, your cell phone and everything else you use in your office. So a lot of money is spent on buying a sanitiser and it costs about $5 every month.

Conserving the Environment

We have heard about global warming and that air pollution is one of the main causes of this. Air pollution is as a result of gas leaks in cars, and as more car owners are among the current home-based workers, car traffic is declining on our roads. About four million people now do their work at home. This reduces the value of Greenhouse Gas. About 500 000 vehicles will be off the road throughout the year. As a result, global warming is declining and becoming much colder than before. This is very beneficial for our health as air and water pollution is reduced.

Also, when you work from home, all your work is done on computers, laptops, or even a cell phone. All files are made on computers and laptops online. Because of this, we do not need much paper to use. This helps to save our forest from further deforestation. In addition, the roads are clean as a few plastic water bottles and bags are used by people.

Your independence

Working from home gives you the freedom to do things your way and at your own pace. When you work in an office you are very busy meeting your schedule. You do not have enough time for yourself and your family. But when you do work online, you make your choice. You decide when you should do your job or not. If you sleep a lot at night because you’re watching a movie, that’s fine. You do not need to hurry in the morning. In your spare time, you can also participate in your leisure activities.

I find this fascinating, I have the freedom to choose how and when to work, and to spend more time with my family. I really enjoy this aspect of working at home. Being around my wife and kids all day, having fun, sitting on the couch working on a laptop and at the same time enjoying a good movie on TV. In addition, working from home helps to rehabilitate a sick relationship between partners caused by overwork.

You are more focused when working at home

I think that when you work from home, you will be more focused while doing your work because no one can disturb you except your mobile phone.

This sounds strange and most of you may argue but think about it for a moment, at home we work more peacefully as no boss presses and watches you every minute. Working hours are very peaceful because you are not under pressure. It also makes you more intelligent and creative as you have time to search and learn several ways to solve a problem related to your job.

However, you need to learn to concentrate while working from home with your children and your wife without interruption. So, overall, I find it very rewarding to work from home, not only for the person but also for the general public. It will be good if more people work from home. If you arrange things well in your home nothing will disturb you or make you slow down.

13
$ 8.60
$ 8.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @alberdioni8406
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

I guess every setup has its own strengths and weaknesses. Others prefer work from home because like you said thay have more time and freedom. Others, however get more distracted when they are at home, so they would rather have the office on site setup.

I personally haven't experienced a work from home setting, maybe in the future, and I may share my thoughts about it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah! Sir, let me disagree a bit with a personal experience 🤣🤣🤣😂🤣. A bit of disagreement based on my line of work though and depending on the company.

I worked from home during the lockdown and I must tell you, I wasn't free and there was no independence for me. Because they don't trust themselves, they were asking for reports upon reports, we were having meetings upon meetings. We were working from home and we were still having 8am meeting on Teams. I had customers to call and it was a terrible moment. Customers knew you can't visit so they did as they liked. The pressure was much and distractions every now and then with my baby crawling up to me every time.

I would have been more productive in the office at that time as unnecessary reports won't be asked as I would always use the Qualco app for all I needed. Even while they made available the mobile version, it was intensifying as most of us wished to be back to the office.

When you work from home, you would notice that you get to do way much more than you would have done in the office.

As I have said, it is because of the peculiarity of my job. I knew of others who enjoyed working from home because of the kind of job they do. They were even more productive especially the lawyer friends and in laws I have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am happy that you got some examples of those who were happy to be working from home. As stated somewhere in this article, not everyone loves it working from home, most prefer the office just like you. But there are many of us who like things to continue as it is because we found a way to be more productive and progressive, while at the same time staying close to our family members. Personally, I have a business of my own I was running before the lockdown and I found something rewarding doing online while at home. Even now, without any lockdown it's hard for me to go back to my business. I literally left under my wife care so I can continue my online jobs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely. Different strokes for different folks. If only our organization made it easier too, I would have much enjoyed it back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In as much as I agree with some of you points. My disagreement comes in on the note of being more focused while working from home. When working from home there are lots of disadvantages. There's the place of you feeling too comfortable and procrastinating on when and how to approach your work.

Its just like the case of a student saying its best to read in the room than in the library. You can sleep off while reading on your bed in your room, therefore, it's best if you go to the library where you won't be too relaxed and can read well.

There are two sides to a coin though. What works for Mr. A might not work for Mr. B.

Nice write-up bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment. When you talk of being too comfortable or procrastinating, it's because there is no focus or determination to achieve a set out goals. I work from home, nothing can distract or discouraged me from achieving my daily goals. I even do more because I can wake up at the middle of the night and start working.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was why I concluded that what works for one does not necessarily work for all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, my friend.

Very good post to enunciate the benefits of working at home. Teleworking can be a blessing for family life, as well as contributing to the planet by polluting the environment. Sounds great, if it weren't for the hidden face behind the sanitary closures.

Having an active life has always been healthy since ancient times. The problem came with the appearance of large cities and the abandonment of life more committed to the land.

Imagine your whole family sharing with you the daily tasks of sustenance, whether in agricultural or livestock tasks for self-managed subsistence. On the other hand, today we enjoy the keyboard to find the money that we need to acquire the products that the system provides us. Something's wrong.

However, I agree with you. It is better to work at home than in the office seeking satisfaction from artificial needs and imposed desires.

Happy Sunday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your analysis often leaves me in awe of your wisdom. Thank you for visiting and God bless you richly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your analysis often leaves me in awe of your wisdom. Thank you for visiting and God bless you richly.

May God bless you and fill you with good things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago