How I lost my 10k crypto portfolio in 2022

11 81
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

I feel pained every time I remember how I lost my crypto portfolio which was worth nearly $10k in the year 2022. I know you will want to know how I managed to get $10k worth of crypto in the first place.

It all started when I joined read.cash, a platform for writers to earn BCH. I was determined to make it big and so I work hard with sleepless nights writing articles every day. As luck would have it, I got tips quite a good number of times from generous readers who appreciated my work. In most of those lucky times, I got tipped with over 3 BCH in one day, and that was the time BCH price was around $600

Moreover, I soon became one of the top writers and top earners on the platform. The least amount I was making in an article daily was between $13 to $15 in BCH. In a month that I didn't get a special tip, my earnings was reaching around $400 in BCH.

Luck was really on my side at the time, and since the money was coming every day I soon stopped my day's Job to focus on blogging full-time. And that was when I got the most from my blogging. It was as if I was always hitting a top topic before anyone else could write about it, and I was getting tipped by the biggest sponsor of the platform.

In a few months, I had saved up around $3k in BCH, and that's when I decided to invest in some smartBCH projects. It seemed like a great idea at the time since these projects were just starting. I went neck-deep into smartBCH putting my money into every new project that came on. Most of the projects ended up being a rug pull or dead before arrival.

The only project that made me real money was the Tropical finance Daiquiri tokens.  I was lucky to join the presale for the token where I invested 4 BCH. Staking was provided as soon as the token was launched to prevent dump. I staked my tokens and started compounding every day. In 2 weeks my 4 BCH has reached 6 BCH. I was so excited about it and continue to compound my earnings daily.

I was so careful about this investment since I have lost money in previous trials. Anytime I noticed a sign of a dump, I quickly swap my tokens to stablecoins and buy back again when it eventually dumped. In that way, I was able to raise my portfolio to $10k in 3 months.

I didn't want to sell anything, instead, I was looking for the next germ of a project to invest in. Then came Emberswap, a new dex on the smartBCH chain. With my success in Tropical finance, I was very confident that I was going to make a Lambo from the new investment.

Unfortunately, things didn't go as planned and the project failed to deliver on its promises. The tokens started dumping a few minutes after the launch. It was a fair lunch, which gives most people the chance to buy before others. And these early buyers started dumping as soon as more people came on.

It was horrible to see my $5k go down to around $1.5k before my eyes in a few minutes. I thought there will be a bounce back but instead, the token plummeted more and I lost all my investments within 2 days. The token never recover, I only got back $150 from my $5k investment. It was heartbreaking to see my money go down the drain.

As if that wasn't enough, I invested again in a new project which happens to be the nail that ramped the coffin. This one was the greatest rug pull I have witnessed. The 3  BCH I invested were gone in a few minutes. I was so devastated that I had to take a break from investing in shit tokens.

Then, the hype for NFT started, and I decided to give it a try. I invested the rest of my crypto in some NFT projects, but they didn't do well either. smartBCH had a problem with their bridge at that same time which leads to a collapse of almost all the projects on the chain. I never got a chance to sell any piece of the NFTs I bought. That was how my $10k portfolio turned to dust.

It has been almost a year since then and every time I remember, I feel sorry for myself. I am starting over again to build a portfolio, but this time I am more careful and wiser. I have learned a lot from my mistakes and resolve never to invest in shit coins ever again.

The lead image is from Unsplash free stocks.

Article Posted first on LeoFinance.

14
$ 0.78
$ 0.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Test75785
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 7
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

Comments

Well, SmartBCH has a huge problem at the moment with its bridge to BCH. Developers of the EVM chain are supposedly working on bringing Sha-gate v2 to mainnet but we don't have any scheduled release just yet.

At this point, those investing in SmartBCH right now are doing it in the hopes the bridge gets restored, if Sha-gate never gets released and there is no direct way to back sBCH one to one with BCH, probably more and more projects will die.

When it comes to DEXes only 3 remain Eben, Mist, and Tango, in that particular order, those are the 3 top according to DeFillama.

https://defillama.com/chain/smartBCH?tvl=true

I am a degen so I dip into Mist all with no reservation, lost it all or gain it all, that is my mentality.

$ 0.00
11 months ago

This is painful bro, I pray that shall you recover all loss IJN

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oof that is tough, defi can be a scary place where you can lose money quickly. I hope you are taking some profits out now?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So painful indeed....sorry about that sir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really painful to see you lost a lot. I hope, your loss will be recovered soon. Be active and happy every time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry to hear that. I remember the days when almost all of my articles on Read.Cash got $15 or more. I was able to jump into other coins too. Be careful in the crypto world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a huge amount and I felt sad to hear the side of your story.. I have lost some of my earnings too and wasn't able to recover. I was still hopeful that it will still able to bounced back and recover even in the last minutes before it proves worthless.. well, it's a lessons that we need to learn out form that unfortunate experiences. I wish you good luck on rebuilding your portfolio.. let's be more careful and be more wiser this time.. god bless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really feels sad by knowing all your story about sinking of 10k . All the hard work , time, energy and happiness wasted. Almost every crypto user has tasted such bad experience in crypto life when he lost in dust. Me too , but not too much. I lost only 300$ in various parts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry to hear that. I hope that this 10k was not all your crypto and that you have other coins or tokens. The golden rule is: don't put all your eggs in one basket.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was all bros, the last 3 BCH I made after all these loses was hacked and stolen from my wallet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ouch, That's quite an expensive lesson to learn from.

$ 0.00
1 year ago