Dealing with addiction

16 37
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

Addiction is one kind of hell of a thing that if you get nib by it, it's hard to stop. It can be so worse that even when what you are addicted to is giving you losses you still can't resist the urge to continue.

Once you start getting addicted to something it gets into your brain and develops a tolerance to the addiction, so you must do it more and more.

Addiction is basically about "love and needs" for something you know can be bad for you and even if you are afraid of it, you can't stop doing it.

Addiction is not only about drugging or alcoholism, but it can also be something in our lives like the computer, smartphone, video game, TV, work, a certain food we eat, what we do for money, and the list goes on and on. Addiction is "to have a compulsion to obtain some effector results from the possession of a substance or engagement in an activity, regardless of its harmful effects".

An addict to anything or everything will use it to the fullest to achieve his/her goal.

There is a reality to addiction. We are all addicted to one thing or the other, but the ability to recognize your limitations and make a turnaround is what differentiates you from being tagged as an addict.

I find it hard to deal with an addiction that I have found myself plugged into recently. My exploration of the Dogechain has turned into an addiction that got me hooked on the NFT market hype on the chain so much that even now that the hype has died a bit due to the frequency of rug pulls I still can't stop myself from checking in on the community and hopping from one telegram group to another in search of a new NFT project.

The worse part of this addiction is that I spent my day doing nothing meaningful than checking on telegram groups and the Metamask wallet browser to check on the Oasis NFT marketplace if any of my NFT listed had been sold. I became addicted to this thing that I could list, delist and relist my NFTs several times a day in my desperation to have them sold.

You know how the Metamask dapp browser can consume data. I got a 4GB data package burned out in just 24hrs for nothing. The same package usually lasts for about a week and 3 days for me. Between Saturday last week and today, I have used a total of 8GB data package just on the Oasis wallet app and through my browsing on these message groups that I am hooked to.

I asked myself earlier today, "Don't you wish you could just block this addictive phenomenon that you have got yourself into and try to find a way out of this hole that has got you stuck?"

I don't know where this addiction may lead me, I don't know if I should just call it quits or continue spending every single waking moment of my day waiting for this one thing that makes my day and my sleep miserable.

There's no hype in the Dogechain NFT market anymore, I guess it's time to get myself out of the hook. I hope to come out of it with my sanity intact and not with half a mind.

I have decided to list most of the NFTs I still have in my wallet for sale at cheap prices so I can completely take my mind away from them and try to find my focus again. It has gotten into my head so much that I hardly an ample time to nurture fresh inspiration for writing, and it's the reason why I have been publishing articles late at night which is not my usual mode of operation.

I hope to find my balance again and focus on the things that give me peace of mind and freedom from this addiction. It's not going to be easy but I will do my best to get out of this addiction before I get shipwrecked.

Maybe you could take this article as a small example of how it happens with addiction. Do you see it happening with you as well? Do you find yourself checking on this or that multiple times a day? Then don't get enslaved to it. Let it go. It's time for you to free yourself as I have just decided to do.

10
$ 2.96
$ 2.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 7
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

Comments

NFT minting and flipping is so addictive indeed! Luckily I have a job to go to and salsa to dance, so I don’t have all that much time to scroll through TG endlessly πŸ˜…

I’m not sure how much data MM takes, but it drains my batter at the light speed!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

MM scoop data like no man's business and also drained battery quickly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I try my possible best to deal with my addiction but I don't see it working cause I have tried alot of therapy and yet it not working.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you can recognize the addiction you can definitely be able to stop it. Little by little try holding yourself and you eventually be free from it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When one is addicted to something, such a person will go in hard into it, it will be hard to leave such thing, it takes strong determination to do that and that's if we want to change it due to its negativity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, addiction is killing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not good when we are addicted into something especially it if will affects us. Maybe we need to balance everything in our life or else we will not noticed that other things and priorities are already disregarded.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right, uncontrolled addiction can mess up our priorities

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Addiction is uncontrollable act, hard to let go but little by little you can do it and with the help of ourself ofocurse

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The first thing is the ability to recognize the addiction, once we can accept that we have an addiction we will be able to deal with it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Addiction to any thing is cruel and it can put us against the relationships, faith or even society. The addiction can force anyone to fight with anyone.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It can ruin a job, marriage, family, and everything

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting. Being addicted to something is really hard to get out of it, except one really determines to.

I have also been addicted to blogging platforms that I can't do without any of them for a day. You will see me scrolling, opening different platforms every seconds. Even people have complained I don't stay much on WhatsApp to chat with them but I am not used to that except if it brings me money πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Something that brings money is a good addiction when it's done in a legitimate way. But being addicted to something like Facebook and WhatsApp group chatting all day is a cancerous addiction that needs serious treatment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Addiction to Futures, I stop a few weeks ago :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hope you didn't lose again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago