History time : The Immortals

11 13

Good morning everyone, have a great day. Another day another history topic to be publish.

Let's get started.

According to Greek historian Herodotus, the Achaemenid Empire of Persia had an elite force of 10,000 well-equipped soldiers. Calling it the Immortals, he claimed that the unit always had the same number of men. When one member died in a battle, fell sick, or was severely wounded, he was immediately replaced by someone else to maintain their strength. ⠀

The Immortals served as the King’s personal guards and the standing army of the Achaemenid Empire of Persia. They played an important role in the expansion of the Persian Empire including the famous Battle of Thermopylae in 480 BCE against the alliance of Greek city-states. ⠀

In popular culture, the 10,000 Immortals were portrayed in the 1962 film “The 300 Spartans,” the 1998 comic book “300,” and its 2006 film adaptation.⠀

Cite another ancient elite force.⠀

#ThinkYouKnow

Hope you enjoy reading and learn something from it😊 if you like my article you can hit the like button and comment if you have positive feedback and if you want to read more about history you can freely visit my wall @FelmarAlmighty and you can also subscribe to me if you haven't subscribe me yet. I published many history topics there so feel free.

Anyways thank you for always supporting me and encouraging me to do so. Lots of love❤

13
$ 0.00
Sponsors of FelmarAlmighty
empty
empty
empty

Comments

🤔🤔🤔 Hmmm, now I know. Thanks for sharing 🤩🤩 Keep sharing okay 💪💪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your support😊 there are many more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay, I'll surely check that out 🤩🤩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay! Thanks😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

💪💪💪🤩😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago