Changing The Game With Music NFTs: a Conversation with Rapper Dom Deshawn

0 38
Avatar for Faybomb
2 years ago
Topics: Digital Art, NFT, Music, Artists, Polygon, ...

This week I had the pleasure of sitting down with Dom Deshawn. Dom is an up and coming Hip-Hop artist from Columbus, Ohio. In this conversation, Dom describes his background, his stylistic approach, and his thoughts on Web 3 and the future of music monetization.

One of my favorite parts of the podcast was when Dom described leaving the job that he wasn’t passionate about to fully devote his time to growing his career in music. As a fan of Hip-Hop music personally, I’ve had a difficult time figuring out who Dom sounds like. Part of that difficulty comes from the fact that he’s not trying to sound like anybody else. On his approach:

Very authentic. I just talk about my life. I care deeply about rap. I still try my best to get these bars off but do it in a way that makes sense for me.

Later in the episode, Dom speaks to the importance of taking the time to personally learn about different blockchains and learn about gas fees. The importance of educating yourself in Web 3 and maximizing what it can do for you comes down to putting in the work. And Dom has certainly done that.

While it’s easy for many who aren’t in the music business to look at musicians and assume they make a lot of money, Dom sheds light on the fact that art lacks a sizeable middle class. For many artists, there is no real space between making millions and making very little. But Dom isn’t looking to get rich.

I just want to be able to make a comfortable living off my music.

This track is called “Autumn Epilogue. It’s the first track from his Tale of Two Seasons project and it is available to own as a 1 of 1 NFT through Zora.co:

Tale of Two Seasons is available to stream free on Spotify and was released on Mint Songs as a two-part NFT. It has since sold out. Dom still has editions of his genesis track “That Be Me” available on Mint Songs. That song has a special story behind it that he explains in the podcast. You can watch the full episode via Odysee here. You can also find Dom Deshawn and his music here:

My chat with Dom was one of my favorite podcast episodes to date. And I look forward to rooting for his success and following up with him down the line.

Disclaimer: I am an owner of Dom Deshawn’s NFTs through Mint Songs.

3
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Faybomb
2 years ago
Topics: Digital Art, NFT, Music, Artists, Polygon, ...

Comments