Success is who you are

0 10
Avatar for Farooqr
1 year ago

I wish to say a big thank you to coinpayu for introducing an articles into the system,  ones again thank you sir.

In 2012, I was a jobless graduate; frustrated and confused about life. The good life for me was a mirage. There were times things looked bright, but in a flash they would fizzle out. I had opportunity to travel out of Nigeria; that to me was the best thing to happen in my life. I thought it was the only option I had left to succeed. Bit when the plan fell through and my hope was dashed, it looked like I was finished. This is why I can fully identify with those who are despondent and desperate to ditch the country and seek life elsewhere. 

The situation in 2012, appears lenient compared to what it is now. Today, young and brilliant Nigerians seek relevance in other climes, even in some unusual places. Some of these destinations merely serve as stopgaps to enable these Nigerians escape the constraining socio-economic situations many young people face in the country. I was in that situation too. This is why I feel qualified and duty-bound to explain in this article the principles that guarantee success in life. I want to lay bare some of the things that have transformed my life, Things that make me affirm that success is not a matter of chances, it is a matter of choices.

When the opportunity came for me to travel from Nigeria to Israel to attend a nine month course in a Bible school, between God and I, it was certain that if I was able to get out, I would not return to Nigerian. The situation was really that bad. All initial arrangements for the trip worked out; we got the letters of admission. There were two of us. Someone who owned a travel agency had bought us our flight tickets. He happened to be a friend to a close relation of the Israeli government, and was in high regard with the Israeli High commissioner in Nigeria. Therefore our visas were as good as granted, or so we thought. The week before we would apply for our visas, something unexpected went wrong. The whole arrangement had been predicted on the relationship between this fine gentleman and my pastor. But just a few days to our visit to the Israeli High commission, that relationship suffered a terrible setback, and I became desperate. 

What did we do before this gentleman changed his mind? We quickly bought our Basic travel allowance and went to apply for the visas at the high commission. There, the officials requested for some documents which we could not produce. 

As if to rub salt into the raw wound this failure had caused us, a few weeks later, the travel agent came yo our house and requested for the flight tickets we had been given earlier. "Well, I should get the tickets back," the agent said rather coldly. Of course, we produced the tickets and watched our dream of going to Israel melt away!

For weeks, I remained upset. Life just went flat. It was, for me, the end of the road. I was finished! Sometimes,  tears would well up in my eyes. There had to be evil forces contending against my destiny, I thought.

When I eventually calmed down, I began to talk to God again. "Something must be wrong somewhere, Lord.  What am I supposed to do?" I remember coming across Dr. Robert Schuller's Tough Times Never Last but Tough People Do. That for me marked a new beginning. Part of the process of that transformation is what I want to share with you in this article. It is about the laws of success that make life so predictable. 

Maybe I should tell you first of all that the world is governed by laws. A law is a universal fact. Take the law of gravity for example. It states that on earth whatever goes up must come down. There is a magnet at the centre of the earth that pulls things to itself. The law of the gravity makes life predictable; but for this law, whenever you threw something up you would not be sure it would come down.

Similarly, one of the laws of motion which Newton discovered states that all objects remain at a state of rest until a force is applied. That also makes life predictable, because if you can remove every force from an object, it will stand still. That is the only way we can stop our vehicles. That is the way an aircraft comes to a halt; that is also how human beings slow down and stop movement. The world is governed by such laws, and they make life predictable. 

A law holds true on any spot on the earth at any time no matter who is operating it. For example, the law of gravity holds true everywhere on earth. If you jump from a ten storey building in Lagos, you will fall down.  And if you think you fell down because a witch was after your destiny,  fly to London, China, and try your luck there. If you jump from a ten storey building in London you will just as well fall down. The interesting thing here is, if the President of England jump from a ten storey building, he will fall down just as a poor and unknown man would.

What do we know about laws? 

First, laws make life predictable.  Second, laws serve as levellers for everybody on earth; they give equal opportunity to all human beings. They have no respect for status, family background or educational qualifications. That helps a great deal! If you can understand these laws, then you can get predictable results once you can satisfy their conditions. 

Success Is Who You Are

Is an offshoot of the fundamental things I have learnt over the years about the laws of success. I believe that reading this article and applying the principles in your personal circumstances will make the coming years your best ever. Therefore, read along carefully as we take a journey into the laws that govern success. Make Your decisions and take action with courage. You will succeed!

Thank you.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Farooqr
1 year ago

Comments