Freelance work according to my personal experience

21 38
Avatar for Farah
Written by
3 years ago

In each session with family and friends, the classic question is asked: What do you do?

Then the eyes expand, amazement and question, when I answer: Freelance . As soon as I explain the nature of my work briefly, the following question becomes the focus of the conversation:

Would you advise me to quit my job and work as a freelancer?

If you were one of the people who asked me (and I doubt it, because my relationships are so limited), or you were asking yourself the same question, this post is for you.

Today, I will lay out all the pros and cons of freelancing according to my personal experience that spans about 5 years, so if you are thinking of becoming a freelancer, here's everything you need to know.

Oscillating income

Despite the recommendations spread in every article about the necessity of having a (cash reserve) that will suffice you for the next six months, I suddenly moved to self-employment without saving a penny!

I believed that my (rich) client would not abandon me and provide me with big projects for life. How wrong I was.

At the end of the month, I found him thanking me for the outcome of the wonderful project that brought us together, wishing that we would meet in the near future.

What are you talking about, man ?! Isn't your project supposed to continue?

And here, pay attention to the fact that my last run is all I have!

It goes without saying that I've had bad days because of this behavior, and I'm no exception. All independents live months of material well-being, followed by months in which they cannot find their daily food. The reason for this is due to the different nature of the free job market and its dependence on the skill of the freelancer in marketing himself in the first place. For example, in traditional markets, the customer relies on (brand strength) and reviews of past customers in making a purchase decision. While adding to the above - in the free labor market the ability of the independent to convince the client of the professionalism of his services and their fulfillment of the latter's requirements.

A blank check

Or in other words: unlimited earning potential.

When you work as a freelancer, you are not getting paid. Instead, you have the power to earn the money you want depending on the time and effort you are ready to put in. The diversity of your customers and the geographic regions to which they belong, as well as their varying financial wealth, means an ocean of opportunities!

I often wake up and scroll (mine of opportunity = inbox) to find a message like this!

Urgent business opportunity

This does not happen in the traditional job, where you find yourself limited to the meager salary that you will receive at the end of each month, regardless of the effort / time you put into performing your job tasks.

Select your customer from the market

What made me move to freelance and not private business is that I can choose my clients myself. If I owned a clothing store, for example, I would have to put up with the rudeness of some customers and an artificial smile on my face as well.

As a freelancer, I am in a much better position to reject projects that I have objections to. I can choose not to partner with an entrepreneur that I don't like. A freelancer is someone who is most honest with himself and with clients.

The surprising thing is that our previous talk about (the uniqueness of the free labor market) applies to the client himself. If the freelancer has to persuade his potential client to work with him, then the client must persuade the professional freelancer to work with him, and this may require him to: raise the project budget or extend the period Delivery (and maybe both!).

Work whenever / wherever you like

Even if you went on a trip around the world in 80 days, you wouldn't find someone more moody than me. Sometimes I wake up in a bad mood, just can't touch the keyboard. Perhaps the evening of the same day will come, and you will find me struggling with sleepiness, looking for an extra hour of work, and enjoying every moment!

This does not happen when you work in a traditional office, where you find yourself forced to give your best during the official working hours, regardless of your mood, or your physical / psychological ability. Not that I didn't have to work - until late - hoping to catch a deadline. But this remains the exception, not the rule.

Vacations become an ancient legend

When are we going on a trip?

When I finished this project.

This dialogue takes place once a week. but I feel that the more I work, the more money I get to allow me a longer vacation, and then the days pass and that leave does not come!

Even when we go out for lunch or dinner, my mind remains occupied with the project that I left - alone - at home. To be honest, I often envy my employee friends when it comes to their ability to forget everything related to work after their work ends!

You are the manager of yourself

If you can't stand a rude client, how about a rude boss? Unfortunately, some managers are not quite good at handling the power their position gives them, so they often tend to turn your life - as their employee - into an endless hell!

As a freelancer, you will not be restricted by the authority of anyone. Some people make the mistake of thinking that the independent (thousand) has a manager, and by this they mean the owners of the projects he works on. But the fact is that the concept of a manager in the traditional job is completely different from it in the freelance job.

In the end, you do not have to obey orders that you do not understand the significance of, and the flexible nature of freelance work helps you in that, as the client's owner understands that your experience in the field may exceed his experience, which makes every point in the project open for discussion when viewpoints differ.

You are your own manager (in the negative sense this time!)

When I was working in an office, if an angry client came to me, I would refer him to the manager immediately, so that he would confront him himself.

You can't imagine how many disputes I had against angry agents (yes, not all clients were completely satisfied with my work!) This time I was in frontline row. I do not deny my resorting - in the beginning - to the (ban) option when things get tough, but that cost me many good clients.

In self-employment, you are forced to treat different clients - with different ideas and moods - kindly, otherwise your personal brand will be demolished in the blink of an eye.

The days of standing in the rain are over

Holding your bag in one hand and covering your head with the other hand might look like a scene from a sad romantic movie. But it is the reality of all those working in traditional jobs when they stand in the rain / blazing sunlight waiting for transportation to / from their homes [and in times of pandemic, it becomes more difficult].

I write these phrases from the balcony of my house that overlooks the bus stop, hoping that God be of everyone's help.

And the days of staying at the mercy of tears began

Have you experienced the feeling of the likelihood of a baby crying for an entire day? Me too ... but all the time. Well this point deserves a full article .

When you work as a freelancer, you are at the mercy of the stream of requests from everyone in the house (in their view, you are not doing anything!), And if you pretend that you are busy, they meet you with more urgency, which soon turns into hope and crying.

More productivity

One of the points that I hated the most in my old workplace is for someone to come and talk with me about the bad weather, or the crazy high prices ... and that while I focus on the task in my hands, then the day goes by its length without accomplishing anything: I am not I found a solution to the expense, but I did not find a solution to the accounting dilemma that I faced!

Now, I am enjoying the quiet moments after my children go to school, and the house is free of any noise or interruptions.

Loneliness

Even if we haven't always liked our coworkers, thanks to them we were able to capture some moments of human interaction.

I used to look at the previous sentence lightly, because I am an introvert, and what they call “moments of human interaction” does not concern me much, quite the opposite .. I would have preferred, in a world of relationships based on interests, not to communicate with anyone.

But sometimes ... I say sometimes .. I need someone to talk to face to face, this often happens when I get shocked by an angry client, or fail to get a project [even though I am the best candidate].

Conclusion

Personally, I can't see myself leaving the independent life. However, it does have downsides that are worth taking into account.

I will not dare to make a decision on your behalf! But I want to make sure you understand that there are shining sides to every downside. You need to decide what you want to barter so that you too can enjoy the freedom of freelance work.

18
$ 1.63
$ 1.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @thepandagirl
Avatar for Farah
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Great Ideas.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting article. You were lucky to have made a sudden move. In my case I am making it slowly, mixing my 9 to 6 job with passive income and freelancing on the side. I totally agree that you can never get true satisfaction being an employee when you have to constantly work under the whims and fancies of your boss!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting and informative article. Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Which marketplace do you work?? I'm so interest about freelancing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I write and translate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Translator? In which site?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

bitcointalk

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to be a freelancer but I still can't decide what niche to focus on. O'm thinking about doimg SEO job or Social media managing but there is still a lot to learn, I'm also afraid of doing it without enough knowledge first. I should think about what you wrotw here and hopefully, become a freelancer as soon as possible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You must discover your skill and your hobby to be able to decide which freelance work to offer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess a social media manager will do because I have a quite creative mind, or I might try a writing job. Btw, would you mind telling me what you do?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love writing and translation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oooh! I think I want to try that one too! I'm into writing and did some translation work before. I hope next time you could write a tutorial how to start freelancing. The measures to take and what a newbie should do. That would be great and will be so much appreciated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish you good luck and I will strive to do more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. And I'll look forward to that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am also very interested in freelance, I mean freelance writing. I just don't know where to start..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes freelance work is great.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah, I want to be freelancer too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish you success

$ 0.00
3 years ago