Story:Where Santu

0 14
Avatar for Faiyad
Written by
3 years ago

I talked to Santu on the playground and when everyone in the house fell asleep at night, we would go to pick mangoes.

Santu lived next to my house. At exactly eleven o'clock the clock ticked and appeared. I was waiting for him in the study room outside the house. Dad, grandpa are all asleep. I could not hear anyone's voice from inside. Before going to bed, my mother saw me reading. Pre-test exams when the school opens after the summer holidays. That's why my mother arranged for me to sleep in the study room a few days ago, so that I can sleep there when I fall asleep while reading. I grew up enough. Nowadays sleeping alone is no longer scary.

As soon as Santu came and called me, I secretly came out of the reading room with a lock. I didn't tell anyone in the house to go to pick mangoes. No one would let us go so late at night. When I was in class three-four as a child, I used to go to the mango orchard with my friends almost every afternoon. The greed for mango food has gone away after rising to higher classes. After a long time on the playground that day, I know why the old wish suddenly arose between me and Santu!

At that time we lived in Manikchak in Malda district. Manikchak is not exactly a city. The place was like Ganj. As such, Maldar mango has a good reputation. Manikchak's mango orchard is again district famous. However, we did not have any mango orchard of our own. Before his grandfather died, he sold all the lands except the house to marry the PCs. My father used to run his family by trading in rice. We bought mangoes from the market and ate them. Besides, there was stealing, picking and eating.

The sky was clear in the afternoon due to light rain. Santu and I went outside and saw the moonlight falling all around. The mango orchards are quite far from our house. Must go beyond locality. That's why I walked quickly with two friends. The people of the house have to come back before they know it.

Quiet night. The smell of soil soaked in thin air. The heat of the day is no more. I liked to walk along the sweet road in the clear moonlight.

Walking along, Santu asked, "Did you bring the bag, Babla?"

“I brought that. I have it in my pocket, ”I said in a low voice.

After walking for ten minutes, we first entered the mango orchard of Pale. The garden is not very big but old. Mango also caught a lot. The mangoes looked gray in the moonlight spread over the trees. There are many big Fazli mangoes hanging in bunches.

But the two of them could not find a mango to find under the tree. Surprise! There was a storm in the afternoon, but not a single mango fell in the garden! Who has picked it all up! There is no guard or gardener in this mango orchard. No one eats mangoes by throwing stones or stealing. What people get under the trees is enough. The owner of the garden does not say anything if he takes the picked mango.

We were upset because we didn't get mangoes in the first garden. Then two friends entered the garden next door. The garden is a marwari. We did not know the name. The trees in this garden are quite bushy and densely planted. As a result, the moonlight did not enter the garden through the gaps in the leaves like in the previous garden. Even so, I could somehow see the soil under the trees in what was entering. But Santu and I could not see each other's faces well.

When I did not get a single mango in this garden, I was very disappointed. Who picked up all the mangoes that fell in the storm? I have been picking mangoes since my childhood, I have never had such an experience. Suddenly I noticed that Santu and I had separated while looking for mangoes. In the semi-darkness, Santu can't be seen around. I don't have a torch with me. I forgot to bring it from home.

I began to wander restlessly in the garden to find Santu. Silent night. Sometimes I can't hear any sound except tuptap sound. They are the sound of falling leaves. There is no such sound when mango falls from the tree. No one's footsteps are like that. So where did Santu go? The thought of picking mangoes came to my mind. An unknown fear shook my hands and feet.

Standing alone in the dark garden, I called out, “Santu! This is Santu! Where are you? ” No one responded. Instead, a nightingale heard the human voice and called out in a loud voice. I closed my eyes in fear when I heard the sudden call of a bird. Guy's hair is all upright. What do I do now?

At that time, someone from the side called my name very softly. I understood Santu by hearing his voice, but I did not understand when he came and stood beside me. I opened my eyes and turned to him and said, “Hey Ray, where did you go? ”

"I was by your side", Santu replied.

".Then why couldn't I see you?"

"That is what happens in the dark."

Santu came and stood beside me but I could not see his face well. But my fears began to subside as I got closer to him.

I said, “Santu, I can't get a mango today. Bad luck. Let's go home. "

Santu did not pay attention to my words. Said, “Will I go back! Let's go - we go to the average mango orchard. The people around the mango orchard have picked it up. No one goes far to pick mangoes. If you go there, you will definitely find it. "

I was a little surprised to hear Santu. Has his intelligence all disappeared? The average mango orchard will be at least a couple of miles away. You have to walk continuously over the narrow embankment of the river. There was talk during the day or not. I haven't heard anyone go there late this night. There are no people's houses nearby.

I was tired of wandering in the garden for so long. A little while ago, when I heard the call of a bird, I was suddenly scared and that fatigue is now sitting on my body. I do not know how much night! Once I thought I will not go to the average mango orchard! If it is late to return, the people of the house may know. Then the mango picking will go away forever. I thought again, I will not return home with a mango after so much trouble? Will the pocket bag remain in the pocket? After thinking for seven and a half years, I finally agreed to Santu's words. I told him, "Santu, I can go to the average garden but I have to come back soon."

"Of course.", Santu agreed with a smile. Although I could not see the smile on his face in the dark, I understood it when I heard his voice. I thought I was very scared, maybe this smile of his.

The two of us are walking on the embankment of the river. I'm walking! As the dam was narrow, it was not possible for the two of them to walk side by side. That's why Santu was going ahead, I was behind. Santu started walking so fast that I couldn't keep up with him. It seemed to be flying from behind!

The rising of the river, the gentle current of the water, the surrounding vegetation, the jute fields, the distant mango orchards, the santu in front - everything around the moonlight seemed vague but clear. I think the moonlight along the river is much brighter than the locality. As we walked we crossed the middlemen's hut next to the dam. Our conversation almost stopped because Santu was there earlier. Both of them were trying to reach the average mango orchard as quickly as possible.

I was having a hard time walking fast. Sometimes the feet were not falling properly on the narrow embankment. Harake was going. I stumbled a couple of times and survived. On the dam again on a hot day the snakes are very scared. There is no salvation once you see and hear it. But seeing Santu walking, it seemed that he didn't care about all this.

I don't remember how long I walked like this. Suddenly someone came running from behind and grabbed me! I hurriedly tried to free myself. I couldn't. He slapped me hard from behind to stop my chattering. I was slapped and fainted. Somehow I managed to turn my head and saw that Udas Mia was holding me. Udas Mia is a very familiar boatman to us. He blinked and asked in a low voice, "No one is anywhere. Where were you going alone this night?" Are you ready to die? ”

I said, “Why are you going to die? I was going to pick mangoes in Santu Garh's garden. " I said in reply to the interrogation of Udas Mian.

"Where is Santu?" I don't see anyone with you? ” The tone of the bored voice shook the stillness of the night again.

I pointed to the front and said, “That's it! Walking first! ”

Santu stood up when he heard me and Udas talking. He raised his hand to look at her and looked back.

Meanwhile, I was trembling in the binding of the slapped hand after being slapped.

As soon as Santu looked back and saw the look on his face, the blood in my chest froze. What kind of face does Santu have? Who made Santu's beautiful face so violent in an instant? How did the voice become so terrible? No human voice can be like that. I do not know this Santu. I have never seen this Santu.

But he knows me. Asked, “What, Ray Babla? I won't go to pick mangoes anymore? ”

I am no longer in a position to answer. Even after the slap in the face of Udas Mian, the strength in his body was lost when he heard Santu's horrible face and horrible voice. Dry chest dry wood. I can't find any response on both lips.

Seeing that I was not saying anything, he said again, “Go! I survived this journey! ”

Before I could finish speaking, Santu's face suddenly disappeared in front of my eyes like a feast. I fainted.

When I regained consciousness, I saw my mother lying in bed. I am surrounded by my mother, father, grandfather, Udas Mia and Santu in front of everyone.

What a fool I was to see Santu with everyone. I remembered his horrible face and terrible voice again.

I sat up on the bed and said in a frightened voice, “Santu! Are you here? ”

Santu did not say anything. Hearing all my words, my father stepped forward and said, “Santu was sleeping at home. He didn't go to pick mangoes. " Then he asked me in a calm voice, "Who were you going to pick mangoes with, Babla?"

With whom again With Santu. I answered in my mind.

But the father says, Santu did not leave the house last night. He was sleeping at home. Besides, Udas Mia could not see Santu with me. So who went to pick mangoes with me? Where would he take me if the bored Mia didn't catch me? In which garden did I pick mangoes today?

After much thought, I found the answers to these questions

(Finished)

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for Faiyad
Written by
3 years ago

Comments