Return to Compassion

1 8
Avatar for Fahmida12
3 years ago

A glimmer of hope in the eyes of a child. Looking at the world through untainted eyes.

The world should learn something from the children. Before I had a child I was a cold and callous person, looking at the world through stained glass. I didn't treat people as human I just regarded them as problems in my life. 

Skip ahead a few years and I learned from my 5 year old that just a moment of compassion can bring a smile to someone's life. The first time that I saw this really happen took me by surprise. 

My son and I were going to find drinks for ourselves when we happen across a older man sleeping on a bench in the park. Seeing the torn weathered clothing my son asked me about the man. I told him that sometimes people come across hard times and become homeless because they couldn't make ends meet. My son started staring at the man in the bench thinking to himself. As I was able to get on to him for staring he asked me if we could give him the money that we had for drinks.

Thinking this was a good teaching moment I told him that we would have to go without drinks if we did that. My son got quiet for a minute before saying that's fine. I handed him the money while telling him to use it as he wished. 

Without pause he walked to the gentleman on the bench and tapped his arm. Startled the man went to apologise to us for using the bench. My son reached out and handed the man the money. He told the man that he wanted him to have what little cash we had. The gentleman tried to refuse the money looking to me. I told him that my son wanted him to have it because he felt like you needed more than we do.

After settling that my son sat down with the man to ask him some questions. My son asked about his life, and how he was doing. Completely ignoring the fact that this man was homeless he talked to him for almost a hour like my son was talking to his mother or I. 

As we said our good byes to the gentleman he pulled me to the side. He wanted to thank me for all we had done to test him like a fellow person. Smiling at the man I confessed to him that none of it was my idea, but I was not going to tell my son no to him choosing to show empathy and compassion to anyone. The man smiled with tears in his eyes looking to my son. The words he said will stay with me for the rest of my life. He said " young man thank you for taking the time to show this old man that there is hope. I hope you can keep that compassion the rest of your life and continue to view the world through untainted eyes." My son smiled and gave the gentleman a hug. 

That day I made a change to myself. I swore that I will become the man that leads my son to make the selfless choice and have heart. 4 years later and we still have chance encounters just like that day. 

It is my hope that the world can return to empathy and compassion.

3
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Fahmida12
3 years ago

Comments

like

$ 0.00
3 years ago