Lynn

1 7
Avatar for Fahmida12
3 years ago

I'm in the middle of deciding what this should be. A girl, strong, confident, up to the task, lives in...

L Y N N

THE FACILITY

 

FOREWORD

Eddie is a boy in his teenage years keeping himself busy by writing. He says he writes, not to gain anything, but to make people happy. He finds writing a wormhole to a world of fantasy. He is optimistic and ready for whatever comes his way! 

“I hope you all find what you are looking for, ” he said.

PROLOGUE

“What did I tell you?”

“Never stop running, ” I answer.

“And if you get caught?” Dad asked again.

“I won’t let them get me,”

“Where do you go to school?”

“I school at the private institution right after the first turn southbound. I have a dog named Val and he shits on the carpet. My mom is an accountant in Italy, my dad, a mechanic at the port in Morocco,” I said, clenching my fists. 

The cave was cold. Dad stopped looking at me and continued taking his breakfast. I could feel my blood rise, I mean, he'd been asking me the same questions for the past sixteen goddamn years. He had also taught me Russian, Italian, French, and the one he said was the most basic, English. 

CHAPTER 1

Halo's Perspective.

“Tik-tok, Tik-tok, ” The clock hand moved. Two minutes to three. 

It was a rather cloudy afternoon. The air pollution in France made the environment yellowish. I sat like a Hindu reciting a mantra. I know, it was weird, if one related with what I was planning, it was dumb. No one else was in the room. 

One minute. I got up and headed for my leather jacket in the adjacent room. The ground was frigid, so I had to wear good boots. Hmm, the timberland did it. I got out. The clock struck three.

The wind gushed against my face upon locking my door outside. 

My heart thumped, a little bit, then stopped. It started again, like it was punching my ribs, and I hated the feeling. I could feel my face hard due to the cold air around. I walked down the staircase and headed south. 

It was ironic how I proceeded to the faculty with the thing in mind. My idea was not all brilliant, I might say, but it had to work. It had to.

It was a fifteen-minute walk to the facility, and, despite the frost, I still preferred walking to taxis. What? It kept my body fit!

Vehicles passed by, blowing horns, but I shook my head whenever the drivers wanted to ask if I was headed in the same direction.

In the specified minutes, I was at the faculty's enormous gates.

“Identification please,” a voice that sounded pretty middle-aged asked. I got my left arm out, raised it up towards the surveillance camera fixed on top of the gate. I heard a buzzing sound as the gates slid open. The card was ascertained. I got my arm back in my side pockets and proceeded to the office. I was several minutes early. There were seats right next to the door that led to the facility's secretary. Leather. I sat down, vapor moving out my mouth.

 

I was constantly shaking my right foot, one would say I was pressed. I tapped my left foot on the tiled floor too. Speaking of tiles, they were dead, no life to them, very vague colors I could not find comfort in the building. I can’t tell the color, maybe green-blue-ish.

It struck fifteen minutes past three. It was time. I stood up and proceeded to the men's changing room. There were no men in the room. They all had duties to attend to. Well, the plan was, so far, going as I wanted it to. I stole some men's apron and wore it over my clothes. I then took some trash that was meant for incineration and pushed them outside. They were in a trolley. Well, some procedures suck. I had to verify myself on the other side, again!

“ID?” A guard asked. The burning trash was in a really hot furnace. I stopped pushing the trolley, and, chin high, to avoid suspicion, I walked towards the two guards. They were all in black, holding Uzis. Yeah, you are probably thinking how the hell I took them down. Well, I never said I took them down… 

I approached the guards in the overall I had stolen. A black overall with some yellow stripes. It had a label at the back. 

2
$ 0.36
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Fahmida12
3 years ago

Comments