The Dangers of Procrastination

0 21
Avatar for Faa_day
1 year ago

Procrastination is the act of leaving undone, things that require urgent attention for pleasurable and easy things. As human beings, we like to have it easy, not to have to struggle for anything without getting it. Always saying to ourselves that there is always tomorrow and it doesn't have to be now.

For instance, a model who is meant to work on her physical appearance by watching what she eats so as not too add too much weight, prefers to visit every joint to satisfy her cravings for food. A model is expected to be fit and she can only achieve this by working on her body and also by exercising. If she is meant to jog daily in the morning but probably because of the weather, she tells herself I can always jog tomorrow, is preparing to fail in her field.

I believe the opposite of procrastination is discipline. Discipline is having self-control. It is making up one's mind to do what is required and not just what is convenient. This is called grinding. Doing it in season and out of season, when you feel like it and when you don't. It's easy to say I'll do it later and not do it, there is always time and sometimes we try to motivate ourselves knowing fully well that we are deceiving ourselves by saying 'I'm running at my own pace'.

Research has it that twenty percent of our concentrated mind produces eighty percent results and vice versa. If only we can just take out time and do what needs to done, the outcome would be so great.

What Procrastination Is

Procrastination is a thief of time and energy. It steals the present and ruins the future. When you refuse to do what you ought to now, you'll end up losing enthusiasm. Since they are urgent yet important things, you will end up doing them but at the wrong time or might not even get the opportunity to do so at all.

This makes me remember a time in secondary school. I was in arts class but it is compulsory for every art student to offer at least one science subject. For me, I did Biology. This subject is very wide, containing several topics, sub-topics, diagrams and labels one must master. We were preparing for the third term examination. I already had the mindset that I wasn't going to need it in the future so, I didn't read it. Of course, I was always present in class and copied my note but I didn't read until few days to the Biology exam. I left Biology to read other subjects. I told myself I was going to read my note later but never really did until I discovered that if I didn't read it I was going to fail. Then I started reading and it costed me my time and sleep. Procrastination and lack of interest in the subject almost made me fail. I can remember that I prayed for God to help me and promised not to do that again which I never did.

What I'm trying to say is whatever thing you have to do, do it now. There is no better time than now. You don't have to regret later if you do the needful. Stop postponing that thing. Don't take a break until you've worked or what are you taking a break from, laziness?

Setting Time Limit

After you have discovered what your goals are, it is important that you attach to it a deadline. You give no room for procrastination by setting a time limit. You can ask yourself 'when do I want to be done with this? It helps a lot and saves time.

How many hours have you told yourself you were going to read and spent so many hours on social media, chatting, playing game or gisting. Of course you should have fun but not at the expense of your career, academics, spiritual life and whatever you plan on building.

Thanks for reading!

4
$ 2.47
$ 2.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Faa_day
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Faa_day
1 year ago

Comments