How free are you with your parents?

2 23
Avatar for Faa_day
1 year ago
Topics: Random topics

Happy father's day to all fathers out there. To those alive and those who can't be here with us on this special day. People are really rocking this day. Some held parties to mark this day. I watched one where fathers were given a doll and a wrapper to back. None of them were able to do it right. It got me laughing. This shows that the role of mothers in the society can't be underestimated.

Some other people posted the wonderful memories they have of their fathers. Then I thought of my dad. He is very much alive. May the almighty God keep him for me, for us. I can remember when we (my siblings and I) were very little, he would tell us a story every night before we go to bed. The stories are you usually about Tortoise, leopard and lion.

I can remember him buying us Kilishi and kuli kuli whenever he travelled to Kaduna.

I can remember him complaining about his phone being hot and we would act like we didn't know meanwhile we'd used his phone to play game. He doesn't like us pressing his phone but I don't think he ever found out about it. Although, that was a long time ago.

Even though you were never there for our graduations and PTA meetings, you still found time to check our results, commend us and encourage us to do better.

Our welfare was always your very first priority. You made sure to pay our school fees, get our books before sorting out your personal need.

You've always thought us that fearing God would always keep us in the journey of this life. You are the best dad in the world... I wish I can say all these to you face to face but I just couldn't summon the courage to. All I could say was 'Happy father's day'even though I know that's not enough.

Father's day was also celebrated in the church I attend. A story was read. It's about being free and open with our parents. We were taught to always seek our parents or guardians for help or advice. Well, that's if they are willing to listen without misinterpreting what you say. Everyone wishes to have understanding and cool parents but the question is -have we created a comfortable atmosphere for our children to speak freely their minds? It's not easy for people especially teenagers to speak up and when they do, you shun them still assuming they are children and shouldn't know that much. When you do this, you will shut them out forever, they might never confide in you out of fear. That's why some turn to their friends for advice who might end up misleading them.

To every father out there that take out time to spend with their family, that are present not only as a father figure but in the emotional well-being of their children, that play and not just warn their children, for daily making sacrifices for the future of your kids-you are great fathers and deserve to be celebrated.

I hope it's not too late to say this: Happy father's day to y'all 😍❤️

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Sponsors of Faa_day
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Faa_day
1 year ago
Topics: Random topics

Comments

Yes, parents should find time to listen to their children cos it's very important. It's when we are free with them that they will tell us what is disturbing them and a way out. That parent and child relationship should be there and made good use of.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right friend. Being free with our family, parents or children helps a lot

$ 0.00
1 year ago