Journey of 2020

4 26
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

December started today and many of us will look back and ask; "What have I done with myself this 2020?" Many of us may not feel happy having that thought, which is why I am here to make it easier for you.

I was a freelance contributor to Orient Daily Newspaper in 2013. One day I had gone to submit my article on "The Media in your Business". After submitting it, I stopped by to greet Mr Agusiobo, the editor.

I told him I was happy to always meet my deadline and I don't go out to have fun or hang out a lot with my friends. It was just me, my PlayStation and books.

I was expecting him to hail me, but he reacted in one of the most profound ways I'll never forget. He lowered the paper he was reading and told me to allow myself to be young.

He told me not to always stress myself as if I'll never meet my deadlines. He had seen my work and knows I'll always deliver, so I should take some time off to chill with friends and have fun. "There will always be something to do."

That was what I needed to hear at the time. I called up my friend that evening and he arrived at my lodge. I was still an undergrad student at the time. We drove to a hotel around GRA Awka and we had a nice time. I finished a bottle of sweetened alcoholic wine with meat and fish. When we were done, the real issue started.

I couldn't stand up. "JB, I can't move my legs and my eyes...my eyes...it seems I'm under anointing."

He had a very long laugh. "Beck you're tipsy. Son of Nebu is high."

"High ke, come off it. I'm not. Just help me stand up and I'll walk to my room right now."

"Your room? Young man we are still outside. Better clear your eyes before you sleep here." I didn't hear the rest of the things he said till I woke up the next morning lying on his sofa. Let me not bore you with the details of how I was preaching to his wife and telling her the colour to pick for her asoebi...LOL. As if she wasn't in her husband's house. People that got married in 2010. When I refreshed, I was happy I had that experience. Like Mr Agusiobo said, there will always be something to do.

So as end of the year rush gets close, don't worry your heart and head. If you have enough to eat and provide for those you can, it is enough. We are glad to have survived this year.

If you have a little extra, hang out with your family or friends. Chop fresh fish pepper soup and laugh at old time jokes. Go to karaoke and sing rubbish with your full chest. Free your mind and know that it is not the end of the world.

There will always be something to do.

So here's a lesson worth sharing with your friends and loved ones; tell them there will always be something to do. Let them not go into depression thinking of how to get everything within these last days of the year. There will be time to try again and again.

At least now you know why I prefer glass of water.

Have a beautiful December everyone.

Till we get to the Promised Land, I shall be waiting for when you will pass me a glass of water and thank God for the gift of grace for the race.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

All work without play make jack.................always take your time to treat yourself nicely after a long day/week/month of working

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very true, no matter how smart or strong we are there will always be something to do, I learn something new today

$ 0.00
3 years ago

2020 so far has been one of the toughest year, but we survive...... It is good to pursure your dreams and make it a reality but not at the expense of your health. Take some time to rest, watch a good movie, read a nice novel, eat well, have some sleep have fun in the little ways you can What's the use of making it in life and not being able to enjoy your hard work peacefully?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There would always be things to do the demanda are very unending the best place is to use very time wisely and get fun and run at times.

$ 0.00
3 years ago