90's Music vs The Gen z

0 25
Avatar for Ezegburugburu
1 year ago

Of late, there have been these comparisons between me and friends with our music. And I've come to the realization that today's music cannot be compared to that of the 1990s.

Consider what I just said. If you think back, you'll realize that I'm not in the slightest lying.

From Onyeka Owenu, Lucky Dube, Sir Victor Uwaifo, and Whitney Houston. Those were among the top artists of the 1990s, and when I listened on the radio to their songs yesterday while riding in the bus coming back home, I noticed that even if they were love songs, their music always had a message for the audience to hear. Not just the message but It constantly has a strong story to tell. It makes you adore the song in some way. They cannot be compared to modern tunes.

Nevertheless, the music may have changed throughout time. Similar things we can say not to the music only but the beats and the crystal-clear videos. The TG-Omori and Clarence Peters style. They music still don't seem to be comparable to 1990s music, in my opinion.

I don't know about you but for me, lyrics are the most important aspect of music; music should have an impact on our daily lives, teach us something, and tell a tale. Music should be more than just entertainment; it should be the melody of existence. And the 1990s made it for me.

These days, sex, drugs, and crime are more frequently discussed in music. This is already significant in today's culture. An upcoming artist drops an EP and half of the songs talk about sex. They're doing great no doubt but give me good music to my ears. Tell me about my feelings, motivate me.

When our musicians sing of and we accept it as the norm, how do we think we're going to try to stop these ills?.

Are they not supposed to serve as role models for our children?

Keep in mind that our children are watching, and as you know kids these days, they are quick learners now. Keep in mind that children learn more from what they see us doing, and that shapes their lives. Now when you start to question if they are singing for social good or just to make money, it makes sense why once you tell someone you want to be a musician, they will start to see you as a man headed for disaster.

I could keep giving instances of tunes like that, but I must stop here.

Amongst all I think Burna boy does justice to my ears most.

Picture gotten from [pexels.com](https://www.pexels.com/photo/amplifier-analogue-audio-bass-302871/)

Sponsors of Ezegburugburu
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Ezegburugburu
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ezegburugburu
1 year ago

Comments