Parenting

1 13
Avatar for Eyehemes
3 years ago

As parents, we’re currently facing a lot of unknowns. Will my child return to school in a few weeks? What if they don't? When can we resume playdates and Sunday school?

When will things go back to normal?

Some of us are even wondering if we will ever again experience what we once thought was normal prior to the Coronavirus outbreak.

How do we as parents and caregivers grapple with our current circumstances?

To be honest, as a Momma, I’ve been battling fear in my parenting long before a silent virus snuck onto our soil and threatened our way of life. You see, my kids are adventure seekers and thrill hunters.

My 5-year-old daughter, Emma, out-does her older brother in dangerous living tenfold. I often joke that she needs an “at home” helmet. I have seriously considered bubble-wrapping her or only letting her play on and around soft surfaces, but I’m sure she’d still figure out a way to hurt herself.

Whether our children are living dangerously or we’re concerned about their health during this pandemic, fear can take hold of us until we feel almost crippled by it. Raising children while trying to navigate the uncertainty of our world right now is harrowing. Are you, too, finding yourself constantly saying, “Be careful, baby,” “Don’t touch that, you don’t know where it’s been!” and “I don’t know, but trust Mom, it’s not the best for you right now.”

With statements like those there comes an undercurrent of stress and fear, along with our uncertainty.

2
$ 0.00

Comments

We live with the fear of the unknown, our prayer is that God should heal our Land

$ 0.00
3 years ago