Positive Effects on Building Walls

6 54
Avatar for Eybyoung
3 years ago

Walls are built to protect us from any danger, to delay the enemy's attack because they still have to go through the walls and break them before they can penetrate to attack you. Just like the Great Wall of China is built to protect their cities against the North Barbarians from invasion.

Image Source: Britanica.com

I will not talk about the literal walls but the walls that were psychologically created to protect us from getting hurt. These walls are created based on emotional status.

Image Source: theodysseyonline.com

A long time ago, I have created a wall for myself. It started when I suffered from bullying, sexual harassment, and beating. Again, like I always said if you have been my follower since the beginning and read some of my biographies then you will know, I've been to hell. But let me tell you a small recap just so you can cope up, when I was a kid mom doesn't like me because she was abandoned by my biological father when she got pregnant, it was me. By that, she used to throw all her shits at me and most of the time beats me up for no reason or a small reason. My stepfather attempted to rape me, and I suffered bullying at school.

Image Source: Brisbanecouncsellingcentre.com

Despite all the shits I've been through, I didn't undergo counseling, I was born poor and cannot afford to go for psychological check-ups, and the fact nobody cared for me, so I just fight all the traumas alone by counterfeiting it all in building a “super wall”. The walls I created made me though so that nobody can easily hurt me.

As the years go by, I have seen the effects of those walls. There are positive and negative effects on it, and I will elaborate below.

Positive Effects of Building Psychological Walls

Nobody can hurt you easily - Because of the walls I created, nobody can hurt me easily. Why? It's because I keep myself distance from anyone, I stay beside my walls and beyond that I am off-limits and vice versa, which means if a person does stupid things towards me it does not affect me much because I am off-limits to their ways. If people think they got me, I just don't care. When you care less about something it does not affect you at all.

Less interaction, less toxic - Because of the walls I keep my distance from anyone. When you are in distance from the crowd you have fewer interactions and by that, you will encounter less toxic. Toxic people can cause a lot of troubles if you are off-limits, then you will likely avoid that kind of people. You don't have to deal a lot with toxic people because you don't give a damn at all.

Peace of mind - When there are fewer interactions, the more you can acquire peace of mind because you don't have to mind a lot about what's happening to your surroundings. I can easily sleep a lot because I don't mind thinking so much about anything. Sometimes the thing that makes peace of mind elusive is that we think so much about the things or people that are not worth our time.

Sudden Bravery - Because you are confident that nobody can hurt you easily, you became though and brave. Bullies are not scary at all because you know how to counterfeit them, the thing they hold on to bully you does not affect you anymore, so then bully no more.

You stop being so emotional - The walls I have built made me not to be emotional, it made me control my emotions. It made me grow a thicker skin, that no matter what people will throw at me it will not affect me. You stopped being literally weak.


These are the positive things I have seen when I have those walls under me, it helps me overcome those nightmares and traumas. But when there are positive effects there are also negative effects when you have walls, especially if you stick around with them, instead of protecting us, it will also harm if it is not destroyed. I will discuss it in the next article so this will not take so long.

The statements above are based on my experiences, on my next articles maybe I will cite some references to make them more valid.

10
$ 9.49
$ 7.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
+ 1
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
3 years ago

Comments

This is lit! <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's just the sad reality of things, i guess :"" but don't build your walls too high. It's terrifying when someone breaks them down.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good, looking forward to the next in your mini series...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's my pleasure that you read this sir and actually waiting for next. Thank you, and for tips 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At the end of the day, a person should spare some time for himself/herself to have healthy relationships and better goals in life. Otherwise, we neglect feeding our value judgement system imo ^^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly, I agree. Having a good relationship with ourselves will give us better goals in life 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago